Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I had the same issues as another poster with them sticking so badly to the pot that they had to be served in a bowl as they all fell apart, but the flavor was excellent! I did notice that the won ton wrappers my store carries seem to be thinner than others I've tried so maybe that's why they didn't stay together? I would definitely make this again though, the insides were just like at my favorite restaraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Wow, I made these yesterday...I had to eat some before supper, they looked so good. I did as the other reviewer did, I did not cook the pork meat first, I just left it raw. I also substituted Nappa cabbage for the regular cabbage. I just added a couple more minutes to the cooking time, to adjust for the raw pork. But, what a great recipe. I recommend doubling or tripling the recipe so that you can freeze some for next time....Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I love this recipe. The pot sickers taste just like the ones I have at dimsum... Thanks so much for the recipe! - Tess.S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I followed the recipe with the following exceptions: I used one pound uncooked ground pork (they're much easier to make this way, and this is how they do it in China) and about 1/2 cup finely shredded cabbage, and no waterchestnuts, to make about 45 pot stickers (or dumplings) using the round wrappers for dumplings available at Asian markets is best--they're thinner. I covered a deep frying pan with PAM--and sprayed some on the dumplings themselves--then browned bottoms for about 4 min. Then I slowly added 1/2 water to pan, covered, and steamed for 10 min. Then I uncovered the pan and let them cook until all the water was gone. (Made this in three batches.)If you're afraid the pork is not completely cooked, you may steam/cook longer, but usually that's plenty of time. Another excellent sauce is to simply combine balsamic vinegar and a small amount of chili oil (avail. at Asian market)in a bowl for dunking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Very good taste, but I changed some of the cooking instructions. I did not precook the pork. I did not cook the pot stickers in oil, and found it unnecessary. You want pot stickers to stick to the pot. And you only need to boil or fry them for about 4 minutes. Also, this was way too much chili oil. My tounge went numb. Besides the cooking changes, the taste of the dumplings was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I have to say that tastewise this was a 5 star recipe for me but mine ended up being a pot of mush cause they all stuck to the bottom of the pot! I tried to stir them as soon as I put them in with the oil but to no avail. They were super tasty though...I didn't make the sauce but used a thai sesame one that I had on hand already. Anyway I will definatley make again but need to figure out how to do it so they don't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Wonderful! I crave these so much I don't mind taking all afternoon to assemble them. Make a double recipe, they freeze good. Try roasted garlic teriyaki sauce for dip. Yummmmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Okay, alot of work. I used the leftover wontons in chicken broth with carrots and mushrooms for a wonton soup and preferred them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This recipe is good, but im used to working with the uncooked pork recipe. This one seemed a bit too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States