Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Very good taste, but I changed some of the cooking instructions. I did not precook the pork. I did not cook the pot stickers in oil, and found it unnecessary. You want pot stickers to stick to the pot. And you only need to boil or fry them for about 4 minutes. Also, this was way too much chili oil. My tounge went numb. Besides the cooking changes, the taste of the dumplings was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I have to say that tastewise this was a 5 star recipe for me but mine ended up being a pot of mush cause they all stuck to the bottom of the pot! I tried to stir them as soon as I put them in with the oil but to no avail. They were super tasty though...I didn't make the sauce but used a thai sesame one that I had on hand already. Anyway I will definatley make again but need to figure out how to do it so they don't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Wonderful! I crave these so much I don't mind taking all afternoon to assemble them. Make a double recipe, they freeze good. Try roasted garlic teriyaki sauce for dip. Yummmmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Okay, alot of work. I used the leftover wontons in chicken broth with carrots and mushrooms for a wonton soup and preferred them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This recipe is good, but im used to working with the uncooked pork recipe. This one seemed a bit too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I added a bit of red pepper flakes to the filling. A bit confused on step 4; stir constantly after adding pot stickers? I just added pot stickers to heated oil, browned the bottoms, added the water, COVERED, and simmered for about 10 minutes. Did not add additional oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This recipe was excellent!!!! Similar to the ones you would get from a Chinese restaurant, or even Friday's. I made modifications to the recipe, not because I felt they needed it, but because I was trying to make these a little more healthy. I did omit the cabbage (I haven't seen ones with cabbage in them), and I used ground chicken instead of pork. I used ground ginger. I also added minced carrots and onions. I left the ground chicken raw, and mixed the ingredients, then cooked them in peanut oil instead of sesame oil, and then steamed them in chicken broth. While steaming, I placed a top on top of the skillet. I also steamed for additional 7 minutes - wanted to make sure the ground chicken was thoroughly cooked. I also used Leanne's sauce of 2 TBSP soy sauce, 2 TBSP rice wine vinegar, 1 tsp sesame oil, and 1 tsp minced scallion, which was right on point. Loved this recipe and will definitely make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
These turned out tasting just like the homemade ones I get in my favorite asian restaurant. I was especially suprised by the texture - both steamed and fried, and perfect! Follow those cooking instructions to a tee. This recipe might also be modified for shumai, gyoza, and mandu, as I don't see anything else close on the site right now. It is a LOT of work to get dozens of wrappers filled with a tiny amount of filling, so get some extra hands on the project if you can, or a chair and a radio if you can't. I didn't let the mixture set overnight, and I used spiced shrimp meat instead of pork - it still came out amazing. I had so many pieces that I had to make two rounds in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
My favourite recipe for potstickers is very similar to this one. I add finely chopped raw shrimp, peeled and deveined to raw chicken or pork and othr ingredients and chill mixture as per the recipe. For those who like a hotter sauce for dipping try combining 2 T. each soya sauce, lemon juice and water, 1 T. hoisin sauce, 2 t. sesame oil, 1 t. grated fresh ginger root, 1/2 t. hot Asian chili paste and 2 T. each finely chopped green onions and fresh cilantro. Vary heat by decreasing or increasing the hot chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States