Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
DANGEROUS if directions are followed as written. First of all these little buggers are a pain to make but I like a good challenge and ended up coming up with a system that worked. But BE CAREFUL the instructions say to cook the pot stickers in oil and then add water. I knew water and oil didn't mix so I tried to add the water carefully to the side of the pan and hot grease went flying everywhere. I even got burnt on my cheek. I then came up with a two skillet solution (frying the pot stickers in one pan and then moving them to a 2nd pan for steaming). Also I highly recommend keeping a couple eggs mixed with a bit of water in a bowl near your prep area because you will have to use it to get the wrappers to stick. I coated each of the four sides of the wrapper as it was laying out flat before putting the mixture in. Then after the wrapper was closed I wet my fingers again with egg wash and coated the outside seam. I would have given this recipe 4 stars for the end result because I think they turned out well but the danger of mixing oil with water really needs to be addressed in the main writing of this recipe. Recommend this review so it gets near the top if you think this is as serious issue as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlittle74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I was a little afraid to try these because I knew they were going to be labor intensive. They were, but on the other hand the recipe makes a lot. (I made some for dinner and froze the rest). I was delighted at how well they turned out and am looking forward to eating the ones I froze. I wasn't crazy about the dipping sauce and preferred some plum sauce. Overall, these are winners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I followed the recipe minus the water chestnuts. The flavors were awesome. I steamed them as well and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These are the closest to restaurant quality you'll find. I didn't have fresh ginger but used powdered instead. I also added a bit of white pepper for heat. This is my new go to recipe. By the way these are good fried instead of steamed too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mary8810002
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I did not add water chestnuts and i used home made wonton wrappers made with whole wheat flour. This made the wontons a bit coarse, they absorbed a lot more water when steaming so... It was a tid bit salty but the flavor was almost there. Next time I will use pastry flour (whole wheat) and add the water chestnuts. I also listened to another review and did not cook the pork in the potstickers, it was better. All in all it is a great recipe but I do not advise using whole wheat flour because its very coarse. Will definitely do this recipe again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary8810002

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: North Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was my first attempt at making pot sticker. I didn't feel like trying my hand at the dough so I bought some won ton wrappers. They turned out fantastic and everyone liked them. I used a little extra ground pork and had some left over stuffing that was absolutely fantastic in an omelet the next morning! I'll make the stuffing again just to the omelet alone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These are not the most traditional pot stickers, in fact they resemble the Japanese version, Gyoza, more. Traditional pot stickers use raw pork mixture, almost like a meatball with hand rolled dough, nonetheless, these made pretty good Gyoza. As for step 4, it really is based on ones taste and equipment, I usually coat the bottom of the pan with a thin layer of oil(adding too much will make the oil pop out a ton), arrange the pot stickers closely and pan fry the bottom for a couple of minutes, then add water, but only enough to steam (I usually add 1/3 cup for my sized pan). I don't want to make the potstickers to become soggy. Put the lid on to steam cook and wait 3-4 minutes or until water fully evaporated for cooked pork filling. With raw pork, I tend to let it stay on longer with more water. I also added about a half cup of chinese chives and totally cut out the chestnuts because of personally taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These turned out great! A little learning curve for me trying to get them to steam the right way, but it all turned out the way I thought they would. I didnt have any cabbage, so I used chopped shredded carrots instead, it was great. I didnt pre-cook the pork, it was done with the steaming. This recipe makes tons of these, so I refridgerated the meat mix, and made these fried a few nights later! oh and the dipping sauce .... GREAT ! a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Very tasty! I agree with "bigsis144" lots of work involved and a once in a while fab treat! Great Sunday or Monday night football food! I am going to try steaming next time, because I do enjoy the healthier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
These are more labor-intensive than most dinners I make, but as a special-occasion treat, WOW!!!! Totally worth it for the look on my husband's face. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsis144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States