Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is really good. I followed others recommendations and halved the recipe...glad I did because it still made a ton! I used 1 lb beef and 1 lb ground pork in mine. Seem said it was a hard meatball so I upped my cabbage and green onion portion and that helped, and I used the full amount of sesame oil and soy sauce instead of halving it. They were time consuming to make and I could only find square wrappers but they turned out nice. I think I had the oil too hot so they got a little crispier than I prefer but that's my fault. Overall, will totally make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
It's interesting that this recipe is called Chinese Dumplings, but uses Japanese Gyoza wrappers. It makes for an entirely different texture, but in my opinion, a better one. For those who aren't sure, the typical dipping sauce for Gyoza is a mixture of soy sauce, vinegar, and if you like (which I won't go without) La-Yu, which is just chili spiced sesame oil. You can mix to a ratio which you like best, but a little of each ingredient goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I tried it with the ground beef and did not care for them. Use ground pork for traditional flavor. Also, I don't process the shrimp. I leave them whole and put 1/2 shrimp in each dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
These were OK, but still prefer the pork & ginger version...and before I made these I cut WAY back on the shrimp and beef! I make my own dipping sauce: 1/3 C soy sauce, 1/3 cup rice wine vinegar, (or Mirin if you like a sweeter sauce) 1 teaspoon sesame oil, 1/3 C sliced green onions, & 1 Tbls of Sambal. (An Asian condiment found in Asian or some grocery stores.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
These are delicious! The sauce is incredible as well. Labor intensive, but I froze most of them prior to cooking and they tasted just as good as the freshly made ones. I made them with shrimp and pork sausage instead of ground beef which added a little more spice. YUM! I did not have any trouble with the oil followed by water as long as I put the lid on immediately and they came out perfectly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used 1/2 the beef and subbed the other 1/2 with ground pork. Other than that the only change I made was to add a little minced garlic. They turned out really, and freeze perfectly too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a great starting recipe. I use thin wonton wrappers (square) maybe a touch smaller. I also steam them in a bamboo steamer set in a wok, spray bamboo with non stick spray and steam for 6 to 8 depending on amount or stacked levels of bamboo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These pot stickers were good, but the amount of time that took to make them was entirely ridiculous for me. Also, I didn't want that many so I decided to only do 5 servings instead of 50 which I thought meant that I would only have 10 to do. I ended up using all 50 of my wrappers with extra filling left over that I couldn't really do anything with. It was very frustrating and time consuming and I don't think that I will be making them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Odiliawine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Absolutely delicious....made it with an asian dipping sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
It's great to see a non-pork recipe for pot stickers! These were ok but I probably won't make them again because the middle became a hard ball regardless of whether we steamed the pot stickers (if steaming lay down a bed of napa cabbage leaves so that they don't stick to the basket) or cooked them in a pan as instructed. We used lean beef and think that may have been the problem. We did love the smell, however, as we were grinding all of the ingredients in the food processor. It smelled exactly like our favorite Chinese restaurant. A few tips: when sealing the mixture in the gyoza wrapper make sure you squeeze as much air out as possible before sealing. The times we didn't remove all of the air our pot stickers puffed up while cooking. This recipe makes a lot of pot stickers (4 pounds of beef worth) so watch out for that. We ended up using three entire packages of gyoza wrappers and each package was around two inches high. Also, when freezing these pot stickers you'll need to freeze each dumpling separately before putting all of the dumplings together in a freezer safe bag. This might be common sense to some, but we just threw all of them in a bag together to freeze and they were a pain to thaw, separate, and refreeze when we wanted to eat them. I'm not sure which sauce is supposed to accompany these pot stickers but we made a very simple sauce from lime juice, orange juice, and soy sauce (a tad bit more orange than lime but enough soy sauce to make it taste good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States