Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These turned out great! I used kale instead of cabbage (that's all I had) and only used 1 lb of shrimp (skipped the beef). These came out better than I expected. As good as anything I've had in any restaurant, but I'll use cabbage next time. Be warned that this makes a lot of potstickers. I only used 1lb of shrimp and still had enough filling for an entire package of wrappers (about 50). I used the recipe for "Gyoza sauce" from this website. I ended up freezing most of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I used one pound of cooked chicken and reduced the serving to three. These are really tasty an even with reducing the serving size to three the recipe made more than 75 pot stickers. I baked some and steamed and fried some. They were all good, but my favortie were the the steamed and fried. My husband liked them all. I made a dipping sauce of rice vinegar, soy sauce, green onions. Just look on Allrecipes recipe. I will make again, but need to fiqure out an easier steaming, frying method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out fantastic! It has an amazing, authentic flavour. I just have a few things I'd like to point to novices like me: 1) Blenders do NOT make a suitable replacement for a food processor. I thought it would work, but it just turned my shrimp into this disgusting liquid. (Next time I plan on mincing the shrimp by hand.) 2) I couldn't find round gyoza wrappers, so I bought wonton wrappers instead- this made a good substitute. 3) When freezing, remember to freeze the pot stickers partially first on a baking sheet without toughing. Then you can place in a freezer bag. 4) This recipe as is makes A LOT of filling. I had almost enough to fill two packs of wonton wrappers (~56 in each). Take that into consideration when doing it yourself. 5) When frying the pot stickers, do not use too much oil. Since there was no measurement of how much to use, we used quite a bit of oil, and it made them a bit too oily for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is really good. I followed others recommendations and halved the recipe...glad I did because it still made a ton! I used 1 lb beef and 1 lb ground pork in mine. Seem said it was a hard meatball so I upped my cabbage and green onion portion and that helped, and I used the full amount of sesame oil and soy sauce instead of halving it. They were time consuming to make and I could only find square wrappers but they turned out nice. I think I had the oil too hot so they got a little crispier than I prefer but that's my fault. Overall, will totally make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
It's interesting that this recipe is called Chinese Dumplings, but uses Japanese Gyoza wrappers. It makes for an entirely different texture, but in my opinion, a better one. For those who aren't sure, the typical dipping sauce for Gyoza is a mixture of soy sauce, vinegar, and if you like (which I won't go without) La-Yu, which is just chili spiced sesame oil. You can mix to a ratio which you like best, but a little of each ingredient goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I tried it with the ground beef and did not care for them. Use ground pork for traditional flavor. Also, I don't process the shrimp. I leave them whole and put 1/2 shrimp in each dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
These were OK, but still prefer the pork & ginger version...and before I made these I cut WAY back on the shrimp and beef! I make my own dipping sauce: 1/3 C soy sauce, 1/3 cup rice wine vinegar, (or Mirin if you like a sweeter sauce) 1 teaspoon sesame oil, 1/3 C sliced green onions, & 1 Tbls of Sambal. (An Asian condiment found in Asian or some grocery stores.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States