Pot Sticker Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is one of my favorite recipes to use! I absolutely love pot stickers, but have only eaten them at restaurants and at home, by way of using pre-made frozen ones from the store... I was so excited to try this recipe when I found it, and I haven't stopped using it regularly since. I do, however, use different fillings, depending on what I have in the fridge, but the pot sticker dough this recipe yields is just fantastic... everything tastes good in it! As for some reviewers saying that these were too "doughy", well I thought I would point out that pot stickers are meant to have a soft, chewy-doughy texture, not meant to be crispy like eggrolls or wantons, etc. I've never felt this recipe to yield pot stickers that are too doughy because I always roll the dough out thinly... they look and taste absolutely delicious, and I've found that they are just as good as ones from restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
These were great! I did do some tweaks though. 1st I rolled out the dough so it was thinner,this way it wasn't too doughy. With the filling I didn't cook the chicken first, all i did was mix all the filling ingredients together than filled. Browned the bottom and then steamed with a little chicken stock instead of water. Kids and DH LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
The dough..was...not good. Buy wonton wrappers and definitely add minced garlic and fresh minced ginger. More or less depending on how much you like it. Take out the five spice, and maybe use ground pork instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
These dumplling were just good enough to eat they are way to doughy the filling is excellent tho, I eat just the filling cause its sooo good i reccomend wonton or spring roll wraps instead of making your own dough. The recepie for the dough is very wrong i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
These are time consuming but definitely worth it! I also steam them in chicken broth and I think it gives it a richer flavor. I don't always have all the ingredients on hand for the filling, but it's simple enough to improvise. I've never had any problems with the dough, I think using boiling water is the key along with kneading it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
my friends ate them all before i even got to try one. they are so good. and i got to tell everyone it was a acient chinese secret - cause of my asian decent -^_^-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I did not care for the five spice powder. To me, tasting spices I associate with pumpkin pie did not fit with the chicken and soy sauce. Next time, I will use soy sauce, garlic salt, and sesame oil. I did like the simpleness of making the dumplings though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I cooked this as a sidedish, along with some fried rice, and they tasted *wonderful*! My brother especially liked the doughy part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These were fabuous. My husband and I usually get the fried dumplings at PF Changs, and these were very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These were fine but not impressive. The dough just didn't have much taste, and that's really what my husband and I like most about restaurant dumplings. The filling was fine, but it didn't make up for the dough being less tasty than I'd hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States