Pot Sticker Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
my friends ate them all before i even got to try one. they are so good. and i got to tell everyone it was a acient chinese secret - cause of my asian decent -^_^-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I cooked this as a sidedish, along with some fried rice, and they tasted *wonderful*! My brother especially liked the doughy part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Not my favorite. They had great flavor, but I would prefer using raw ingredients and steaming them together in the wrapper. The pre-cooked chicken mixture had a funny texture, unlike what I'm used to with potstickers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
Simply fantastic! I have tried too many times to count to make dumplings. My whole family, including 2 year old twins ate them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
These dumplling were just good enough to eat they are way to doughy the filling is excellent tho, I eat just the filling cause its sooo good i reccomend wonton or spring roll wraps instead of making your own dough. The recepie for the dough is very wrong i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
These were great! I did do some tweaks though. 1st I rolled out the dough so it was thinner,this way it wasn't too doughy. With the filling I didn't cook the chicken first, all i did was mix all the filling ingredients together than filled. Browned the bottom and then steamed with a little chicken stock instead of water. Kids and DH LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I did not care for the five spice powder. To me, tasting spices I associate with pumpkin pie did not fit with the chicken and soy sauce. Next time, I will use soy sauce, garlic salt, and sesame oil. I did like the simpleness of making the dumplings though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is one of my favorite recipes to use! I absolutely love pot stickers, but have only eaten them at restaurants and at home, by way of using pre-made frozen ones from the store... I was so excited to try this recipe when I found it, and I haven't stopped using it regularly since. I do, however, use different fillings, depending on what I have in the fridge, but the pot sticker dough this recipe yields is just fantastic... everything tastes good in it! As for some reviewers saying that these were too "doughy", well I thought I would point out that pot stickers are meant to have a soft, chewy-doughy texture, not meant to be crispy like eggrolls or wantons, etc. I've never felt this recipe to yield pot stickers that are too doughy because I always roll the dough out thinly... they look and taste absolutely delicious, and I've found that they are just as good as ones from restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demimi
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
These were very bland, but I'm prolly to blame. I subbed pork for chicken, didn't have any green onion, and did not use enough spice. I didn't have the Chinese 5-spice thingy so I just used a little bit of ground ginger, but it needed SOOOO much more. I thought these were going to be too salty, because I was using full-sodium soy sauce, so I omitted the salt in the dough. ugh big mistake. When it cooks it turns out so bland and watery, next time I'm going to take anothers suggestion and cook it in chicken stock. The dough was a nightmare. I had to flour everything in sight down, and it took forever, but I have to admit it was kind of fun. I had some left over filling so I just ate that plain and it tasted fine, which is why I didn't think it needed more spice, but once it gets into the bland tasting dough, it tastes sooooo nothingish. I'm really calorie-conscious, so I didn't want to use the full oil when cooking the bottoms, so the first time I used a small amount of oil, and the second time I just used a SMALL drizzle of sesame oil, a spray of PAM, and then just spread it with a spoon. I recommend diluting your choice of oil in water, instead of using the full amount. This recipe is a really good base, and I will only make the dough again if I don't have wonton wrappers around, and I'm going to keep tweaking this and running with it. I do recommend this recipe, just don't make the mistakes I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
These are time consuming but definitely worth it! I also steam them in chicken broth and I think it gives it a richer flavor. I don't always have all the ingredients on hand for the filling, but it's simple enough to improvise. I've never had any problems with the dough, I think using boiling water is the key along with kneading it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States