Pot Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is one of the best pot roasts I have made. Very tender with great flavor. I used wine instead of vinegar as the recipe author suggested in her review. I also added peas instead of potatoes since I serve always serve pot roast with mashed potatoes. The herbs and wine really enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I used brewed coffee instead of water and the beef bullion, slow roasted...delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missbrocks
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was my first pot roast and i made a few changes because of what i had on hand...it was delicious! I used Montreal steak seasoning on the meat, tomato sauce, real tomatoes and chicken stock and it turned out more like a stew. i didn't use the cornstarch or mushrooms because i didn't have either. the meat fell apart after 3 hours and i put it on the stove and added the potatoes and carrots. the flavor is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Great recipe! Made two batches in two crock pots for a family dinner of 10. After the meat was in the crock pot and cooking, I prepared the vegetables and then put them in the crock pot. Everything tourned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious! I converted this to a crockpot. I seared the beef in bacon grease then put in a slow cooker and topped with everything else, and just omitted the corn starch step. Used sweet potatoes in place of white. LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My 4 pound roast was tender after 3 hours. Can use fresh mushrooms. 3-4 garlic cloves is better. Do not use more brown sugar than recipe suggests, even with 1 Tbsp, gravy was slightly sweet. Will make again definitely and even add more of the seasonings next time. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this and my family loved it. The extra spices made it tastier than just the traditional "pot roast" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motochik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mike
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Wow!! I have tried many pot roast dishes, most with a mono-tone beef flavor, which is good, but very plain. This one is different in a very good way. What intrigues you is the sweet (brown sugar) and sour (vinegar) components. In my case I used apple cider vinegar which I feel worked very well. (To me red wine vinegar may be a little too sharp) A deft hand is needed with the sweet and sour flavors, however, more is NOT better. Don't over-do the spices either. I didn't use celery at all. Also didn't fuss with adding spices and mushrooms at the end, I added it all in the beginning. I also worked in some "Demi-Glace Gold" to boost the beefy flavor, Yum! My family was overwhelmed with good flavor. This is a keeper. ~~Donald.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Wouldn't change a thing! i had to hurry the meal up a bit so I modified the cook time (and temp). The meat was very tender even cooking at 325 vs. 300. Here's what I did: preheated the oven @ 375, then lowered it to 325 and let it cook for about 3 1/2 hours before adding the carrots. To help the potatoes along, I removed them after about 20 min in the oven and microwaved them for about 4-5 min. just before serving. The kitchen smelled so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States