Pot Roast with Balsamic Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I made this recipe but with a little beef broth and the exact amount of balsamic vinegar and used pearl onions. I feel it's missing something, so I'm going to spruce up the gravy with some red wine and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Fantastic, easy, quick recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
My family loved this, didn't have any leftovers which I was hoping for. The one change I made, was adding minced garlic since I was out of garlic powder. We love garlic, so it wasn't any problem for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was very simple. I have made it twice this month. Both times cooked around 8 hours on low in crock pots. The meat fell off the bone. Great out of the pot & as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this in part with the recipe group!!! We liked this!!! Would make again. We also very much enjoyed the left over the next day as Sammie's. Onions were really tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 18, January 2014 ~ I was excited to try this recipe as I love the taste of balsamic vinegar. The results were just ok. I would give the onions a 5-star rating as they were terrific. I added carrots to the mix, and unfortunately the carrots soaked up all the taste of the vinegar and were inedible. The meat was tender, but the flavor just wasn't there for us. I will say, the leftovers the next day were better than the first time around. Overall, not a bad recipe, just my favorite way to flavor a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I made this for the AR Group. It was good and easy. I had modified some by using a bottom round roast and cooking slowly in a Dutch oven on the stove top. I don’t recommend using this cut for this recipe. I’ve cooked roast beef regularly for more than 20 yrs., so I’m sure it was the cut which is very lean and it did slice well and make good leftover sandwiches. It did not fall apart like a chuck will. All other ingredients and steps were followed as per recipe until I tasted the broth after it had cooked for 6 hrs. The broth was very tangy for us, so I added 1 tsp molasses because I thought a little sweetness might help and it did. The sauce was a dark deep rich color that I want to experiment with. I think next time I’ll definitely add minced garlic, mushrooms and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsPenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this for Recipe Group. I have to say it was OK, but not good. I will probably not make again, and just stick with my other recipes for beef roasts. I thought the vinegar was way overboard, and the rest was quite bland. When it was finished I removed from the slow cooker and thickened the juice into a "gravy" then shredded the meat and returned to the slow cooker. I made mashed potatoes and we ate it as an open-faced sandwich with corn on the side. Hubby agreed he'd rather not have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Original review: I followed the recipe exactly, including the cut of meat. It resulted in a moist and tender roast that was very good, but not 5 star good. I was worried that the balsamic would over power the entire dish, but with the long cooking time, it did not. You could tell it was there and some of the flavor of that came through, but not too much. If I was to make again, I would add in some carrots and celery and would cut the vinegar by half. Update: I raised this recipe to 5 stars based on the left-overs. The left-overs are absolutely fantastic and I will probably make this again as written just for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Did not care for it. The Balsamic was too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States