Pot Roast with Balsamic Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this in part with the recipe group!!! We liked this!!! Would make again. We also very much enjoyed the left over the next day as Sammie's. Onions were really tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 18, January 2014 ~ I was excited to try this recipe as I love the taste of balsamic vinegar. The results were just ok. I would give the onions a 5-star rating as they were terrific. I added carrots to the mix, and unfortunately the carrots soaked up all the taste of the vinegar and were inedible. The meat was tender, but the flavor just wasn't there for us. I will say, the leftovers the next day were better than the first time around. Overall, not a bad recipe, just my favorite way to flavor a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I made this for the AR Group. It was good and easy. I had modified some by using a bottom round roast and cooking slowly in a Dutch oven on the stove top. I don’t recommend using this cut for this recipe. I’ve cooked roast beef regularly for more than 20 yrs., so I’m sure it was the cut which is very lean and it did slice well and make good leftover sandwiches. It did not fall apart like a chuck will. All other ingredients and steps were followed as per recipe until I tasted the broth after it had cooked for 6 hrs. The broth was very tangy for us, so I added 1 tsp molasses because I thought a little sweetness might help and it did. The sauce was a dark deep rich color that I want to experiment with. I think next time I’ll definitely add minced garlic, mushrooms and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsPenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this for Recipe Group. I have to say it was OK, but not good. I will probably not make again, and just stick with my other recipes for beef roasts. I thought the vinegar was way overboard, and the rest was quite bland. When it was finished I removed from the slow cooker and thickened the juice into a "gravy" then shredded the meat and returned to the slow cooker. I made mashed potatoes and we ate it as an open-faced sandwich with corn on the side. Hubby agreed he'd rather not have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Original review: I followed the recipe exactly, including the cut of meat. It resulted in a moist and tender roast that was very good, but not 5 star good. I was worried that the balsamic would over power the entire dish, but with the long cooking time, it did not. You could tell it was there and some of the flavor of that came through, but not too much. If I was to make again, I would add in some carrots and celery and would cut the vinegar by half. Update: I raised this recipe to 5 stars based on the left-overs. The left-overs are absolutely fantastic and I will probably make this again as written just for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Did not care for it. The Balsamic was too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Recipe Group Selection for January 18, 2014 – I like that this was an easy recipe, however I felt it was missing a little something. I wish I had added more onions and added extra seasonings to bring it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Made for Recipe Group. I used an English cut roast for this. Shredded it at the end of cooking time and put back in the juices(it was so tender it was falling apart). I made sandwiches with provolone and a nice sub bun. Good flavor, but lacking some extra zip in there for me. I added a little worcestershire, some more garlic powder and a little shake of hot sauce. Really easy recipe though, and the more onions the better! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this for Recipe Group. "Quick" and easy. I have to admit, I did not measure the seasonings. I browned the beef late and night and let it cook overnight, while I slept. In the morning, I shredded the beef, and placed it back in the crockpot, set to warm. My daughter and I ran an errand, and came back to have the roast for lunch with Mom. We love onion cooked with roast beef, so I added an extra onion. Wish I'd thought to add mushrooms! I liked this, but will probably stick with my usual method of cooking pot roast. Mom and daughter liked this VERY much, and split the leftovers, leaving me with none! I served it with a cucumber and onion salad, mashed sweet potatoes, and roasted brussels sprouts and cauliflower. A very enjoyable Sunday lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Absolutely delish! I wasn't too sure about this recipe at first with only balsamic & onion, but boy am I glad I gave it a try!! It's simple and so delicious! I also added a couple of sprigs of fresh Rosemary to the pot and then baby carrots at the last 30 minutes and they came out perfect! Serve with homemade mashed potatoes and you have an awesome dinner! Perfect for company too:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States