Pot Roast, Vegetables, and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Excellent and easy recipe. I did add in some celery and I subbed in a little ketchup for the tomato paste out of necessity. It still gave me the subtleness that the paste offers, so I was pleased with that. I did not have a dark beer, so I used just a standard light beer, which worked fine. I only had a 2 pound roast and after 2 hours, this was done perfectly. I let rest for 15 minutes and sliced up and it was fork tender and the veggies perfect. I will use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My fiancé drank the beer so I didn't have beer hehe. It came out a little chewy but was very good once it cooled off. I made cornbread to go along with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Cooked a 3 lb chuck roast from frozen for 1 hour in a pressure cooker using this recipe. I added some Worcestershire sauce and omitted the veggies except some onion. It was wonderful. What can go wrong when you use beer, garlic, and Dijon mustard??? Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKA75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Nice pot roast recipe. Had to tweak it a bit (used regular mustard and had only one can of beef broth on hand) but it still came out good. Roast was flavorful and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I make this recipe with a Bottle of Founders Breakfast Stout. The stout is brewed with "flaked oats, bitter and sweetened imported chocolates, Sumatra and Kona coffee" and it adds a complexity and richness that has astounded those who I have made it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Great for those cold days:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Great recipe. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was OUTSTANDING! Everytime I make it, people LOVE it. I add a tad more garlic, and a few other herbs (like fresh cilantro, rosemary, and thyme), but it is amazing and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Surprisingly my first roast to make in the oven (I've only done slow cooker)! Very good! My dutch oven was barely big enough to hold all of this, I really had to pack it down! Great flavor and don't be afraid to use the whole beer, I was a stopped at about 3/4 of the bottle, and with I would have done it all. I left out the tomato paste cause I didn't have it. We really enjoyed this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States