Pot Roast, Vegetables, and Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
The prep time on this is the only thing I take issue with. Maybe I peel/chop slower than others, but this took me like 45 minutes to prep. I used Guiness beer and added a flavor shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
AFor a different taste try using hard cider instead of beer which can sometimes be a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Nice flavors, but I think it is better without the sugar. I also would recommen that you saute the paste with the vegs, adds to the complexity of the flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Wayne Biswanger

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Colorado City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Was absolutely the best pot roast I have had in a long time. Omitted the tomato paste, used spicey brown instead of Dijon mustard and used a black lager definitely will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ross Parsons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is the only pot roast recipe I use now! I don't add the mushrooms, but other than that I follow the recipe to a T. Make it you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Excellent and easy recipe. I did add in some celery and I subbed in a little ketchup for the tomato paste out of necessity. It still gave me the subtleness that the paste offers, so I was pleased with that. I did not have a dark beer, so I used just a standard light beer, which worked fine. I only had a 2 pound roast and after 2 hours, this was done perfectly. I let rest for 15 minutes and sliced up and it was fork tender and the veggies perfect. I will use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My fiancé drank the beer so I didn't have beer hehe. It came out a little chewy but was very good once it cooled off. I made cornbread to go along with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Cooked a 3 lb chuck roast from frozen for 1 hour in a pressure cooker using this recipe. I added some Worcestershire sauce and omitted the veggies except some onion. It was wonderful. What can go wrong when you use beer, garlic, and Dijon mustard??? Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Nice pot roast recipe. Had to tweak it a bit (used regular mustard and had only one can of beef broth on hand) but it still came out good. Roast was flavorful and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States