Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Well, after reading all the reviews for this recipe, I decided to try this one for my first attempt at a roast...and it was well worth it! I did make a few changes...used a sirloin roast, used a oven bag instead of foil, used a spice rub for the meat, used 2 cans of soup, and spiked the soup/onion mix with a few healthy doses of Worcester sauce...threw in a few redskinned potatoes quartered, a couple small onions...baked at 325 for the full 4 hours, and it was a HUGE HIT! The meat was so tender, juicy and flavorful...and the gravy was out of this world, use 2 cans soup for extra gravy, you wont be sorry! Thanks for a great recipe Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This is EXCELLENT! I made some changes, though. Since I had a meeting and wouldn't be home at dinner time, I needed to make a meal in one...I used an oven bag inside a 9 X 13" pan, coated with 1 TBSP of flour. I set the roast inside the bag and topped it with about 1/4 cup of Lea & Perrins steak sauce. I mixed 2 cans of mushroom soup (instead of 1) with the dry onion soup mix and spooned and patted it over the roast. I then set 6 peeled and 1/4-ed potatoes and many baby carrots around the roast. I closed up the bag, following instructions included with bags. I baked it at 325 degrees for 2 3/4 hours. The vegies were perfect and the meat was tender. The gravy was AWESOME! My family LOVED it and I enjoyed it VERY MUCH, even though I had to eat it reheated! Thanks, Lynn, for a GREAT recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Oh, boy, was this good! It was also very, very easy to prepare. My husband loved it, and I ate the left overs for three days while he was out of town. I added sweet onions, potatoes, and carrots around the roast, inside of the foil, and also doubled the gravy recipe, as others recommended. Also, I did not cook it as long as was recommended, only until a meat thermometer registered an appropriate temperature for medium rare beef. It came out very tender! My foil was apparently not tight enough to hold all of the juices in, but it ended up being a good thing, as the thinner juices that ran out were a perfect complement to the beef (almost like 'au jus'), while we thought the thicker gravy was excellent to pour over the veggies. This is a DEFINITE keeper, and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
Yum! My husband told me I can make this every Sunday! Only one thing I would note though - don't make the mistake of salting the meat. With the salt in the soup mix, you definitely won't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
To make this a 5 star recipe, use 2 cans of soup, add a 1/2 tablespoon of horseradish, a splash of worcester sauce, and a tablespoon of steak sauce to the mix. Follow the rest as indicated. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This was really good. I did not put it in the foil pack like the directions say, instead I just put it in my 9X13 pan and covered tightly with foil. I threw in pearl onions, carrots and mushrooms. I added about 3/4 of red wine to the soup mixture. I got lots of gravy, it was a bit thin, but thickened with some corn starch. I baked it for about 2 1/2 hours, it was very very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
If I could give the recipe more than 5 stars I would. It is perfect. I have been looking for a good roast recipe for a while. My 7 year old gobbled this up and my husband said it was the best roast he ever had. I highly recommend this recipe, you will not regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This was a fantastic roast! I added two cans of mushroom soup and some red wine to the mixture so there was plenty of gravy. Also, I cut a hole in the top of the round and put in a clove of garlic so it would flavor the meat. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I tried changing it up a bit by using cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup. We have been trying to find a pot roast recipe that we all loved and this is the first! Delicious and easy! I have also used this recipe to make a pork roast, but used cream of chicken and mushroom soup and herb dry soup mix. Only note for making it with pork is I would recommend using a low sodium soup because it can be rather salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was the very first pot roast I ever made. I remember calling a friend and she suggested I braise the roast before adding it to the roasting pan and using red wine instead of water. This is a go-to comfort food for me now--it always varies how I make it but the base ingredients are always there. Mashed potatoes are a must have with this roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States