Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Loved it! Definitely a keeper. Roast was fall-apart tender...really good! Thank you for the recipe..my daughter and her family wanted the recipe it after they tasted it too!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe as written and my family loved it! So simple and so delicious! I will definitely be making this again. I will never understand why some reviewers make changes to a recipe and then submit a review. This one actually works very well, just as it is. Next time I may try to add a few things, but as an 'amateur' cook, I appreciated the simplicity and flavor of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sealy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brianne
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe worked out really well and I did a few things differently as well. 1) Instead of sealing it in foil, I just lined the roasting pan I had and used it's lid to cover. 2) I added onion powder, basil, salt, and pepper to the meat on the top and bottom of the roast. 3) And to the onion soup/mushroom soup mix--added a couple drops of A1 sauce. 4) Cut up some potatoes and put them around the roast as well. Everything turned out delicious and moist for a very good flavor and aroma throughout the house! I will definitely make this again. (I must also add that I only made 1.7 lb. of beef bottom round roast, cooked at 325F for 3 hours--could've dropped the cook time since I was only doing half of what the recipe suggests.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colliers, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
So simple yet so hearty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was easy to make but came out a bit bland. I expected more flavor so I will likely add more spices next time. This was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I've made this several times over the years. Made it again today and decided to go ahead and add a review. I made it "as written" for the first couple of times and here's the bottom line: it's QUITE tasty and relatively fool-proof. And the fact that it's wrapped in foil means that clean-up is pretty easy and it stays moist. This time, I ended up making a couple of small changes. As I was missing the onion soup, I subbed a packet of McCormick's brown gravy mix. Also added a dry rosemary and garlic seasoning mix and threw in a healthy shake of onion powder. Also cubed up some root veggies (carrots, red potatoes and rutabaga, tossed in at the start of cooking and sealed in the packet.) It all worked quite well...just the right thing for a cool fall dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I have made this recipe numerous times and it always comes out great. The meat is fork tender and the gravy goes great with mashed potatoes. This is my go to for when I am craving a fall off the fork roast, it is better than in the crock pot. Wish I had gotten this recipe when I was a new bride 20 years ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This roast was awesome! I used two cans as other reviewers had recommended, and I added a healthy dose of Worcestershire sauce to the gravy mix as well as the bare roast before cooking it. I also added a half a pack of powdered ranch dressing mix, some ground mustard, cayenne pepper, and garlic powder to the gravy mix. This was more of a preference thing really. I'm sure it would have been just as good as written. I made it last week and my boyfriend already asked for it again. I added carrots today to the roast and will serve it with mashed potatoes. Already a household favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I went off another reviewer's opinion, and added about 1 tablespoon horseradish sauce, 1 tablespoon steak sauce (I used A-1), and a good couple dashes of worchesershire. I was iffy on using 2 cans of cream of mushroom, but decided to use both in the end and trust me, you will not regret it! I added diced carrots, celery, onion, and mushrooms to the beef. Then when it was done, I served it over garlic mashed potatoes and my fiancee ate 2 full platefuls. I only had a pot roast that I had previously diced into cubes for stew meat, and only cooked it for 3 hours, and it still came out tender and awesome. This will definitely be a make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Such a yummy and easy recipe. If you don't want to run the oven for 4 hours, you can also put it the crock pot overnight on low for 8 hours. Or I use a timer and run the crock pot during the day so the roast is ready by the time I come home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States