Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was the very first pot roast I ever made. I remember calling a friend and she suggested I braise the roast before adding it to the roasting pan and using red wine instead of water. This is a go-to comfort food for me now--it always varies how I make it but the base ingredients are always there. Mashed potatoes are a must have with this roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Best ever pot roast recipe. I did make a few changes. Used a 4lb rump roast, Golden Mushroom Soup, a can of Campbells Beef Gravy and 2T cooking Sherry. Also put a sliced onion on top. Cooked as directed. The meat was so tender it was like cutting butter. Gravy was spectacular on mashed potatoes. This is my new 'go to' pot roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is the first time I am writing a review I JUST HAD TO! This is the best I mean BEST pot roast ever! I didnt change a thing. We brought it to my sons house as an add on to their already wonderful dinner and there wasnt a piece left! It cooked and served like a piece of heaven! So easy and sooooo delicious! Thanks for sharing it with us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarAlosMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe is simple, fast and tasty. We tried the recipe today and it was moist, tender and delicious! I would certainly recommend this recipe to anyone who enjoys a good pot roast. I think the whole idea of the foil is to prevent the roast from losing it's moisture and locks in the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I'm one of the few on this site that tried the receipe as written. I know this is not a common practice here, but it sounded too easy to resist. It is simple, quick to make, and delicious! Kudos to you LBEECH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I follow the recipe exactly and always come out with a tender, moist, tasty roast. Pouring the juices from the foil to a sauce pan is easy, and clean up is super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight. The meat was a little dry but the vegetables were delicious...ill make again but with more juices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Simply delicious!! Except mine was overdone.....should have checked it with a meat thermometer. Cooked a 2.87 pound bottom round for 3 1/2 hours, turned off the oven and let it rest in the oven for another 15 min. The flavor was delicious and made the " gravy" exactly as written. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Love it! My grandpa used this exact same recipe my whole life and I may be partial but it was the best pot roast I still use it to this day. You can also use an au jus from the bottle or make some from powder I use the one from Johnnys and its a nice change if your not an onion person
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
i made this for sunday dinner. i used a chuck roast ( it was on sale), i used a 15oz can of beef broth for the water and 2 cans of cream o' mushroom with the onion soup packet. i sliced 2 cloves of garlic and make slits in the meat and poked it in then splashed some worchester sauce over it. i mixed the liquids and poured it over the whole thing then scattered a sliced onion over all. i covered the whole thing with foil and it was delicious! the meat was fall apart tender. great recipe even with my slight modifications. this is my only way to cook pot roast from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States