Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This recipe has been around for over 30 years and is one of those you keep using. I make it quite a bit because of the gravy. I am not a gravy person,but this one I love with mashed potatoes. And.... So easy. Perfect ror those days you want comfort food. It never disappoints. I see a few that say it is nothing special, but I think it is as good as it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wow, awesome recipe. This by far the best I have tried. The gravy was second to none. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I put the potatoes, carrots and onions in another foil packet by themselves using the left over dry onion soup mix. and a bit of water. For you see there is only two of us again. And I hate wasting food of seasoning. I broke this down for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzzenne Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I've been using this recipe for over 30 years. I just put it in the 9 x 13 with 1/4'd red skin potatoes, baby carrots, a few ribs of celery, and cover it with foil. Bake at 350° for 2 hrs. I've also used various roasts -chuck, bottom, sirloin, london broil...Always tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is very good as written. It made an abundance of gravy and I was actually very surprised at how tender the beef was. I can only guess that some of you, complaining that the meat was dry, used cuts with little, or no fat. Next time, I'll add some sliced onions on top of the gravy mixture. Thanks, LBEECH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
excellent family enjoyed it, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Sasser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by Marc
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I usually use the slow cooker for pot roasts but I decided to try using the oven when I came across this! Easy to make, and it was delicious! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong. It came out tough and dry; used a boneless cross rib roast. 300 degrees for 3.5 hours. Maybe I didn't seal the foil tight enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Taste was good, but the meat was a bit tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is the recipe that I was raised on and in turn I raised my children on. My mother always made this and it is my go to for good 'ol fashioned comfort food. The only thing is that I strongly disagree with listening to others and doubling the soup. I tried it once and if you prefer boiled meat, then it's right for you. I prefer roasted and too much liquid boils it instead, making it rubbery. If you want more gravy, add the second can AFTER the roast is finished, not during the roast. I don't do the water sprinkling thing and here's a tip for one less dish: sprinkle the dried soup on the bottom, lay the roast on top, then top with the mushroom soup. They will mix on their own with all the meat juices and now you don't have to mix it beforehand, saving dishes! I always serve it with garlic mashed potatoes, seasoned green beans and hot yeast rolls. It's the ultimate family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States