Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
excellent family enjoyed it, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marc
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I usually use the slow cooker for pot roasts but I decided to try using the oven when I came across this! Easy to make, and it was delicious! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong. It came out tough and dry; used a boneless cross rib roast. 300 degrees for 3.5 hours. Maybe I didn't seal the foil tight enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Taste was good, but the meat was a bit tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is the recipe that I was raised on and in turn I raised my children on. My mother always made this and it is my go to for good 'ol fashioned comfort food. The only thing is that I strongly disagree with listening to others and doubling the soup. I tried it once and if you prefer boiled meat, then it's right for you. I prefer roasted and too much liquid boils it instead, making it rubbery. If you want more gravy, add the second can AFTER the roast is finished, not during the roast. I don't do the water sprinkling thing and here's a tip for one less dish: sprinkle the dried soup on the bottom, lay the roast on top, then top with the mushroom soup. They will mix on their own with all the meat juices and now you don't have to mix it beforehand, saving dishes! I always serve it with garlic mashed potatoes, seasoned green beans and hot yeast rolls. It's the ultimate family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Wow! I never made a pot roast, and nailed this recipe on the first try!!! Everyone asked for seconds. I used Angus bottom round, two cans of mushroom soup for extra gravy, and added Worcestershire sauce. I baked it in an oven bag for four hours at 300. The meat was so perfectly tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Mine turned out dry. The gravy was excellent though. Just wish the meat would of been juicy. Maybe I should have cooked it a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Well, I "failed" at the "no fail" recipe. The beef was not very tender and the gravy tasted just okay, although it looked like a grey, gelatinous mess with strong, oniony overtones. Probably my fault. I only cooked it 3 hours instead of 4--because I happened to have a 1.7 pound roast instead of a 3-pounder. But I checked it with a meat thermometer at 3 hours and it was way past done for beef, so I figured I'd better take it out. So was it overdone or underdone? Or maybe the problem was I used a different cut of roast; can't recall what it was, but it wasn't bottom round. Also, I followed the recommendations to add two cans of the soup...maybe I should have added some other additional liquid too to avoid the gloopy-ness of the gravy. Not sure what I did wrong or if I dare try it again or should move on to another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I have been messing up pot roasts until I came across this recipe. But the difference is, I had no Lipton Mix or can of soup. I researched a copy-cat mix to Lipton's, mixed those ingredients, rubbed down onto the roast, sprinkled with water and a little to go in the pan, covered in foil and set at 300 degrees for up to four hours. Came.Out.Awesome. We barely had any leftovers. This is definitely a staple for Sunday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wonderful flavor and gravy was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States