Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
tried this exactly as stated, and my family thought my old way of doing roast was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Loved it! I used cream of mushroom and roasted garlic soup, and a dry rub of garlic powder, thyme and pepper. I put onions, quartered mushrooms and potatoes in the foil. Next time, I'll leave out the onions as they overpowered the garlic. This is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Pretty good... It made lots of gravy. We served it with egg noodles. We did over cook the meat a little. Watch your cooking times!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was my first attempt at a pot roast and it was absolutely amazing. One of our friends (and his girlfriend) just polished off all the leftovers an hour ago, issuing compliments that would make even the vainest person blush. I took others' advice from here - I doubled the soup, used a rub (in my case, peppercorn, which made the meat spicy and hot and absolutely incredible, and it complemented the soup way better than I dared to hope), used a bag instead of foil, threw in red pearl onions and quartered red potatoes (along with carrots and celery). The meat reached 180 degrees within 2 hours, so I took it out at 3. I probably should've left it longer, as the flavor was excellent but it wasn't as tender as I was hoping. I plan to try it again using a savory herb rub and a longer cook time; we'll see what happens! This website is making me appear to be a much better cook than I am. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is so easy....I love it! Instead of placing in baking dish and foil I put this in a regular pot and cover it and its super moist and tasty. I usually cut up potatoes, onions, and carrots and put them around the edges of the pot roast. The natural juices and mushroom mixture makes them taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Ultimate comfort food, American style. So incredibly easy, and very tasty. I used a 3lb eye of round cut and it was delicious. I had plenty of gravy just following the recipe as written, but there were only two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
My family loves this pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
A good starter recipe for pot roast. I added vegetable like carrots,potatoes,and celery. For added flavor I added some beef bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I invited my nephew and his fiance over for dinner and prepared this. I got such wonderful praises. It was indeed delicious. I used more water(half a cup) to make more gravy, and used half a package of dry onion soup mix. I also added potatoes and carrots. I will prepare this again tomorrow night when my brother and Dad visit. Serve it with a big tossed salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This is the best recipe... I have made this 4 times now... I didnt add the dry onion mix though. First, I rubbedd the meat with seasoning then used a couple of tsps of olive oil and rubbed the meat on both sides. Then I placed it in a oven bag... I used 2 cloves of garlic(using my garlic press)which I put on top of the roast(used Sirloin instead). Then poured 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup on top... 2 tbsp of worcester sauce, I quartered a medium onlon, quartered 4 medium red skinned potatoes, a handful of the small baby carrots, instead of the water(I used beef broth for the flavor). Amazing! This was the best meal ever.... My husband wants this meal once a week and my kids loved it... I makes tones of gravy.. By the way I made mashed potatoes with the red potatoes unskinned... you just add butter and canned cream with salt and pepper talk about wonderful! I tell everyone about this recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States