Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I've made this several times over the years. Made it again today and decided to go ahead and add a review. I made it "as written" for the first couple of times and here's the bottom line: it's QUITE tasty and relatively fool-proof. And the fact that it's wrapped in foil means that clean-up is pretty easy and it stays moist. This time, I ended up making a couple of small changes. As I was missing the onion soup, I subbed a packet of McCormick's brown gravy mix. Also added a dry rosemary and garlic seasoning mix and threw in a healthy shake of onion powder. Also cubed up some root veggies (carrots, red potatoes and rutabaga, tossed in at the start of cooking and sealed in the packet.) It all worked quite well...just the right thing for a cool fall dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I have made this recipe numerous times and it always comes out great. The meat is fork tender and the gravy goes great with mashed potatoes. This is my go to for when I am craving a fall off the fork roast, it is better than in the crock pot. Wish I had gotten this recipe when I was a new bride 20 years ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This roast was awesome! I used two cans as other reviewers had recommended, and I added a healthy dose of Worcestershire sauce to the gravy mix as well as the bare roast before cooking it. I also added a half a pack of powdered ranch dressing mix, some ground mustard, cayenne pepper, and garlic powder to the gravy mix. This was more of a preference thing really. I'm sure it would have been just as good as written. I made it last week and my boyfriend already asked for it again. I added carrots today to the roast and will serve it with mashed potatoes. Already a household favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I went off another reviewer's opinion, and added about 1 tablespoon horseradish sauce, 1 tablespoon steak sauce (I used A-1), and a good couple dashes of worchesershire. I was iffy on using 2 cans of cream of mushroom, but decided to use both in the end and trust me, you will not regret it! I added diced carrots, celery, onion, and mushrooms to the beef. Then when it was done, I served it over garlic mashed potatoes and my fiancee ate 2 full platefuls. I only had a pot roast that I had previously diced into cubes for stew meat, and only cooked it for 3 hours, and it still came out tender and awesome. This will definitely be a make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Such a yummy and easy recipe. If you don't want to run the oven for 4 hours, you can also put it the crock pot overnight on low for 8 hours. Or I use a timer and run the crock pot during the day so the roast is ready by the time I come home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
One of my favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
For someone who hates to cook like me, this recipe really is awesome! It could not be easier to do and the flavor is great. I do recommend following the oft-said advice in here of adding more soup because you FOR SURE will want more gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was incredible. I used a 3 pound chuck roast instead because the store didn't have a bottom round. The only other thing I did was to tuck some baby carrots and red potatos in around the roast. Tender and moist and perfect flavor... I wouldn't change a single thing. This recipe will be going into my regular rotation. Thanks LBEECH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
eh--I don't know, tasted the same as my roast recipe in the crockpot that is almost identical....and less cleanup in there...won't be making again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very good I'm so happy i made this! The gravy is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recebaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States