Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Mine turned out dry. The gravy was excellent though. Just wish the meat would of been juicy. Maybe I should have cooked it a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Well, I "failed" at the "no fail" recipe. The beef was not very tender and the gravy tasted just okay, although it looked like a grey, gelatinous mess with strong, oniony overtones. Probably my fault. I only cooked it 3 hours instead of 4--because I happened to have a 1.7 pound roast instead of a 3-pounder. But I checked it with a meat thermometer at 3 hours and it was way past done for beef, so I figured I'd better take it out. So was it overdone or underdone? Or maybe the problem was I used a different cut of roast; can't recall what it was, but it wasn't bottom round. Also, I followed the recommendations to add two cans of the soup...maybe I should have added some other additional liquid too to avoid the gloopy-ness of the gravy. Not sure what I did wrong or if I dare try it again or should move on to another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I have been messing up pot roasts until I came across this recipe. But the difference is, I had no Lipton Mix or can of soup. I researched a copy-cat mix to Lipton's, mixed those ingredients, rubbed down onto the roast, sprinkled with water and a little to go in the pan, covered in foil and set at 300 degrees for up to four hours. Came.Out.Awesome. We barely had any leftovers. This is definitely a staple for Sunday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wonderful flavor and gravy was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
When I was in High School, one of the nuns used to make this, and send it home with my Mom,(she was the school secretary). We all loved it, and my Mom continued to make it. I am so happy to find this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBLB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
this was really very good my family loved it. I added two onion soup mixes with the cream of mushroom soup and 1 and a half cups water to make more gravy.i am for sure going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My family and I loved this roast! So tender and flavorful. Delicious gravy! Thank you, thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
It's nothing like a great pot roast. This quick and easy recipe yielded one of the most tender and juicy dishes that I have made in quite some time. Can't rave enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Great, easy, fast - family loved it! I love to oven braise in LeCreuset, so seared the roast well & removed from pot. Added quartered onions and big chunks of carrot - tossed around for a couple of minutes. Added 1/2 C red wine to deglaze and reduced liquid to half. Put roast in pot, tossed in a small handful of dried porcini and a bouquet of fresh rosemary, thyme and 2 bay leaves. Poured in 2 cans mushroom soup and packet of onion soup mix. No seasoning except cracked black pepper. Covered with foil and topped with pot lid. Into 300 oven for 3-1/2 hrs (3#bottom round). Took 15 mins to prep and relaxed all afternoon while it braised. Guests raved about it. I know I tweaked it a lot from original recipe - but recipe begged to be tweaked! I happen to know original recipe rocks too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Loved it! Definitely a keeper. Roast was fall-apart tender...really good! Thank you for the recipe..my daughter and her family wanted the recipe it after they tasted it too!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States