Pot Roast in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I have been messing up pot roasts until I came across this recipe. But the difference is, I had no Lipton Mix or can of soup. I researched a copy-cat mix to Lipton's, mixed those ingredients, rubbed down onto the roast, sprinkled with water and a little to go in the pan, covered in foil and set at 300 degrees for up to four hours. Came.Out.Awesome. We barely had any leftovers. This is definitely a staple for Sunday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wonderful flavor and gravy was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
When I was in High School, one of the nuns used to make this, and send it home with my Mom,(she was the school secretary). We all loved it, and my Mom continued to make it. I am so happy to find this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBLB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
this was really very good my family loved it. I added two onion soup mixes with the cream of mushroom soup and 1 and a half cups water to make more gravy.i am for sure going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My family and I loved this roast! So tender and flavorful. Delicious gravy! Thank you, thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
It's nothing like a great pot roast. This quick and easy recipe yielded one of the most tender and juicy dishes that I have made in quite some time. Can't rave enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Great, easy, fast - family loved it! I love to oven braise in LeCreuset, so seared the roast well & removed from pot. Added quartered onions and big chunks of carrot - tossed around for a couple of minutes. Added 1/2 C red wine to deglaze and reduced liquid to half. Put roast in pot, tossed in a small handful of dried porcini and a bouquet of fresh rosemary, thyme and 2 bay leaves. Poured in 2 cans mushroom soup and packet of onion soup mix. No seasoning except cracked black pepper. Covered with foil and topped with pot lid. Into 300 oven for 3-1/2 hrs (3#bottom round). Took 15 mins to prep and relaxed all afternoon while it braised. Guests raved about it. I know I tweaked it a lot from original recipe - but recipe begged to be tweaked! I happen to know original recipe rocks too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Loved it! Definitely a keeper. Roast was fall-apart tender...really good! Thank you for the recipe..my daughter and her family wanted the recipe it after they tasted it too!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe as written and my family loved it! So simple and so delicious! I will definitely be making this again. I will never understand why some reviewers make changes to a recipe and then submit a review. This one actually works very well, just as it is. Next time I may try to add a few things, but as an 'amateur' cook, I appreciated the simplicity and flavor of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sealy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bri O.
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe worked out really well and I did a few things differently as well. 1) Instead of sealing it in foil, I just lined the roasting pan I had and used it's lid to cover. 2) I added onion powder, basil, salt, and pepper to the meat on the top and bottom of the roast. 3) And to the onion soup/mushroom soup mix--added a couple drops of A1 sauce. 4) Cut up some potatoes and put them around the roast as well. Everything turned out delicious and moist for a very good flavor and aroma throughout the house! I will definitely make this again. (I must also add that I only made 1.7 lb. of beef bottom round roast, cooked at 325F for 3 hours--could've dropped the cook time since I was only doing half of what the recipe suggests.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bri O.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colliers, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Wintersville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States