Pot Roast for Many Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Perfect basic recipe. I think I like the smaller roasts better, though, especially since I had to cram the huge thing into my 5 gallon stockpot! I was a bit skeptical about the instant gravy, but man did it taste better than my bland, lumpy, cornflowery version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
My family really enjoyed this recipe! L. Heimbaugh - Illinois
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This * was * so * good! I'll never make pot roast any other way again! I used real butter instead of margarine and Knorr brand brown gravy mix. And I think next time I'll use a larger roast (6 lbs, maybe), since we had a ton of leftover veggies (but they were goooood). The roast was tender and juicy and the seasoning was just right. If you like the juxtaposition of slightly sweet and salty, then this recipe is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Very good recipe. Great teste! A few less potatoes and carrots makes a more balanced meal. Or douubling the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
My husband was not very thrilled when I told him we were having roast. All the other roast that I did before never seemed to turn out. This one was great! I added slivers of garlic inside the meat and added pepper. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
We loved the flavors! I didn't cook the potatoes with the roast. We wanted mashed potatoes instead. I also left the carrots in bigger chunks instead of diced. The sweet and salty were a great combination. I wasn't sure at first, but my family requested that I make it again and again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Although I didn't reduce the temp (oops)and I omitted the potatoes because we wanted mashed, the roast came out tender and juicy and my husband loved it too! I will make it again. I didn't use the butter, I just sprayed butter flavored cooking spray onto the meat prior to the spices etc...worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
One of my absolute FAVORITE recipes and I'm not a big fan of pot roast. The sugar is the perfect addition to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this for 16 people. I used 9 lbs of roast. My husband said it was the best roast ever and the veggies were to die for!!! Since my Mom died I have tried to make her roast and I have not succeeded. Today I did! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States