Pot Roast Dips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Well, let me tell you, this recipe is very good! I’m usually hesitant about using packaged soup/au jus mixes, because I worry that they will be too salty. But I threw caution to the wind and used Beefy Onion Soup mix and an au jus mix. Instead of the water called for, I used a full can of low sodium beef broth and, like another reviewer, I added 1/2 cup of red wine. I cooked this on high, as indicated in the recipe, and it was perfectly done in 5 hours. I shredded the beef and strained the cooking liquid to use as an au jus dipping sauce for the sandwiches. I chilled the au jus and removed the fat that rose to the top and re-heated it before serving. To make the sandwiches, I re-heated some of the shredded beef with a little of the au jus. I made Garlic Bread Spread from this site and spread it on the cut sides of a baguette and then toasted it under the broiler. I assembled the sandwiches, adding provolone and popped them back under the broiler to melt the cheese. These were delish! I froze the leftovers of both the beef and au jus, and look forward to having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This was excellent! I didn't have the au jus packet so I used beef base and just sorta eyeballed it. I cooked on high about 4 hours, then on low for 2.. it broke apart and was so tender and flavorful. I made homemade ciabatta bread and it hit the spot! I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
My family loved this! I had some leftover meat and I used it for enchiladas the next day. My husband thought that was delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
SO yummy! I put my slow cooker on low cook for 5 hours instead of high and it cooked the meat perfectly! My fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callie pryor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Made this for my family last night and they all loved it! Even my super picky 3 year old nephew kept asking for more!! The only changes I made were to use beefy onion soup mix, 2 tablespoons chopped garlic and 1 tablespoon Italian Seasoning. Thank you for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
so yum! Loved watching my guests devour these! And super easy to make. Based on the reviews of others, I used 1 package each of dry onion soup mix and dry au jus mix with 2 cups of water and 5 pounds of beef chuck roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Swanson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I didn't have dry au jus, so I added some soy sauce, 1 cup water, and a chicken bouillon cube. Tasted fabulous as sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I loved these! They were so simple to make and other than mixing in a little more water, throwing in a ton of chopped garlic, and sliced onions I didn't alter the recipe. My fiance was in "man paradise" just enjoying juicy beef and melty cheese. I did use a monterey jack cheese blend. We just like that cheese better ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Wonderful, delicious meal that is easy to pull together. I used the beefy onion soup mix and added some sliced onions and mushrooms and it turned out great! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Whelan Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made this tonight, and it was a hit! The whole family loved it. So easy and delicious. I ate mine with crumbled gorgonzola on it - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States