Pot Roast Dips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Very good, the only thing we did different was using swiss cheese instead of mozzarella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
My husband and son gave this 2 thumbs up, I wasn't as impressed and just thought it was okay. I gave it 4 stars because it was simple to make on a busy work week and because I was overruled by the family :-) After shredding the meat and putting it back in the crock pot, the meat soaked up all the left over au jus and there was nothing left for dipping, although the meat was flavorful enough that you didn't really need more juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I used a 3 lb blade roast and put it on low overnight for about 17 hours, very tender and tasty. I used 2 cups water and rubbed the roast with pepper, onion powder and garlic. Served on toasted buns with horseradish mayo and skipped the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Well, let me tell you, this recipe is very good! I’m usually hesitant about using packaged soup/au jus mixes, because I worry that they will be too salty. But I threw caution to the wind and used Beefy Onion Soup mix and an au jus mix. Instead of the water called for, I used a full can of low sodium beef broth and, like another reviewer, I added 1/2 cup of red wine. I cooked this on high, as indicated in the recipe, and it was perfectly done in 5 hours. I shredded the beef and strained the cooking liquid to use as an au jus dipping sauce for the sandwiches. I chilled the au jus and removed the fat that rose to the top and re-heated it before serving. To make the sandwiches, I re-heated some of the shredded beef with a little of the au jus. I made Garlic Bread Spread from this site and spread it on the cut sides of a baguette and then toasted it under the broiler. I assembled the sandwiches, adding provolone and popped them back under the broiler to melt the cheese. These were delish! I froze the leftovers of both the beef and au jus, and look forward to having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is so good. The only thing I changed was I used beef broth instead of water. When the roast was finished I shredded it separating the fatty areas. I put the juice in the refrigerator so the fat went to the top. Discard the fat and put back into the slow cooker. Use good rolls and top with mozzarella cheese. So good may make it to Christmas Eve standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This was excellent! I didn't have the au jus packet so I used beef base and just sorta eyeballed it. I cooked on high about 4 hours, then on low for 2.. it broke apart and was so tender and flavorful. I made homemade ciabatta bread and it hit the spot! I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
My family loved this! I had some leftover meat and I used it for enchiladas the next day. My husband thought that was delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was very simple and tasted great. Will make more next timw for left overs. Thanks you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight, my husband said it was the best French dip sandwich he has ever had. Adding this one to the monthly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was tasty and easy. I didn't have the au jus mix, so I just used the onion soup and a beef boullion cube. This is a busy day friend. For those that said it was too greasy, let the juices sit and skim the fat off of the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States