Posse Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I was a little surprised at how good this came out. It is a bit cowboy-like, but it tasted very good and is low fat. I did make a few minor modifications, but I think the dish without alterations would be good. First I sauteed the onion with some garlic and chopped green pepper before adding the meat to brown. I don't know what ranch-style beans are, so I used black beans. Following some reviewers comments, I added a can of creamed corn. And I put the whole thing in the slowcooker. Throughout the week, I served this in different ways and it always was delicious, especially with some homemade southern style cornbread. I'll certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
i followed the recipe with the exception of adding minced garlic and jalapenos. 5 kids loved it!! they put shredded cheese on top. I loved it without! low cal too!! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I love this recipe! So easy and tasty. My son feels the plain hamburger was a bit bland so we may experiment w/ country sausage or with seasonings for chili as suggested by another reviewer. We're having casual supper on Christmas Day and I plan to make a huge pot of this. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMNOP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
It's aiit but has definite possibilities. It's a bit bland for my tastes but worth working with due to the low calorie content. I can't decide if I want to add garlic, chili powder, cumin, oregano or all of the above. I am leaning towards all of the above : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe was as tasty as people implied. Originally we contemplated seasoning the beef but I'm glad we didn't. Also the amount of onion was a bit scary but I'm glad I put the whole thing in because the taste was fabulous. We removed the seeds from the chile and also added the equivalent of 2 cloves of garlic. I'm so excited to have so many leftovers of this simple tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This recipe is so good...perfect as written. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Husband loved. Kids didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
this recipe is truly easy and delicious. I substituted ground turkey for the beef as a matter of preference. I also used canned green chopped chiles to make it even easier. I'll defenitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikngwomn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Easy enough for the oldest child to fix and goes over well for even the picky eater in the bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was tasty, crowd-pleasing, and super easy. I added ground red pepper, and it would also taste good with any seasonings you'd use in chili. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States