Posse Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Really liked this. Made it for a bean bake-off at church and it was popular. We let it simmer longer - the flavors blend better and the beef ends up more tender. When I make it again (and I will) I use more corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom cooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This was great. There's only the two of us so we had 1/2 left. Put small box of mac and cheese in left overs and finished it the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
i followed the recipe with the exception of adding minced garlic and jalapenos. 5 kids loved it!! they put shredded cheese on top. I loved it without! low cal too!! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I was a little surprised at how good this came out. It is a bit cowboy-like, but it tasted very good and is low fat. I did make a few minor modifications, but I think the dish without alterations would be good. First I sauteed the onion with some garlic and chopped green pepper before adding the meat to brown. I don't know what ranch-style beans are, so I used black beans. Following some reviewers comments, I added a can of creamed corn. And I put the whole thing in the slowcooker. Throughout the week, I served this in different ways and it always was delicious, especially with some homemade southern style cornbread. I'll certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Easy enough for the oldest child to fix and goes over well for even the picky eater in the bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This recipe is so good...perfect as written. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
this recipe is truly easy and delicious. I substituted ground turkey for the beef as a matter of preference. I also used canned green chopped chiles to make it even easier. I'll defenitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikngwomn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe was as tasty as people implied. Originally we contemplated seasoning the beef but I'm glad we didn't. Also the amount of onion was a bit scary but I'm glad I put the whole thing in because the taste was fabulous. We removed the seeds from the chile and also added the equivalent of 2 cloves of garlic. I'm so excited to have so many leftovers of this simple tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was tasty, crowd-pleasing, and super easy. I added ground red pepper, and it would also taste good with any seasonings you'd use in chili. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
It's aiit but has definite possibilities. It's a bit bland for my tastes but worth working with due to the low calorie content. I can't decide if I want to add garlic, chili powder, cumin, oregano or all of the above. I am leaning towards all of the above : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States