Portuguese Sweet Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This is a very good sweet bread! Contrary to the earlier reviewers' negative comments, I think this type of sweetbread is supposed to be rather dense, which is exactly the appeal. If you bake all 6 at the same time, however, increase bake time to 45-50 minutes at sea level, and rotate the pans between shelves halfway through to avoid burning the inside crust. Also, while I, too, found that the dough didn't rise nearly as much as expected, it did rise to a perfect level during baking. Hang with this recipe and you'll get a perfectly delicious sweet bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I LOVED THIS! I made this bread for my high school grad party, and this was the main attraction!! This recipe made 6 loaves, and in less than 24 hours, all the loaves were gone. I read that people who reviewed had trouble getting the dough to rise, so I decided to add one extra package of yeast. The results were wonderful! This is an easy recipe and great for parties. I HIGHLY recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddiBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this recipe with the help of my son Jett. This is the real deal Portuguese Sweet Bread. It's a heavier, sweet bread, with a light, fragrant taste. I tried this just in time for Portuguese Day. I'm definitely using this recipe, along with my own recipe for Portuguese Bean Soup and malasadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
this bread was awesome, i did have some problems but had i went through some reviews before hand i think i would have figured out why, 1. it didn't rise, being that theres so much sugar and eggs i should have added a lil more yeast or let it sit longer. overall i'm not taking it to Thanksgiving dinner since MINE did not rise, but hey it makes a great breakfast bread with sausage and egg... i will be trying this again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I make this at Mother's Day for my wife. I usually make one loaf and the rest rolls. The loaf makes great French toast the next morning. So far I have cut the recipe in half and thirds with equally great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
excellent !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Thank you for this recipe. I lived in the azores on Terciera and fell in love with portugese sweet bread. I am so pleased with this recipe. Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Anxious to try! Fond memories of my G-Grandmother (sao Miguel,Azores-Hawaii-USA) making this bread. She would place the huge bowl of dough on the dryer to rise & the aroma would be throughout the house even b4 baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good! I scaled down the recipe to make about 20 rolls and added the grated zest of half an orange. I used less sugar to my own personal taste. Will make this recipe again! Thank you, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
The bread was undercooked in the middle. The flavor was fantastic, however. Still managed to goble it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States