Portuguese Sweet Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I make this at Mother's Day for my wife. I usually make one loaf and the rest rolls. The loaf makes great French toast the next morning. So far I have cut the recipe in half and thirds with equally great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this recipe with the help of my son Jett. This is the real deal Portuguese Sweet Bread. It's a heavier, sweet bread, with a light, fragrant taste. I tried this just in time for Portuguese Day. I'm definitely using this recipe, along with my own recipe for Portuguese Bean Soup and malasadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe was alright but I'm still looking for a recipe that has a true sweetbread flavor. This recipe seems like it doesn't have enough sugar in it...? It has no vanilla or lemon flavoring and doesn't result in a fluffy, full loaf as I expected it would. Perhaps it could be tweaked to become what I expected but I would like to come by a true, old world sweetbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makingitcount

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Anxious to try! Fond memories of my G-Grandmother (sao Miguel,Azores-Hawaii-USA) making this bread. She would place the huge bowl of dough on the dryer to rise & the aroma would be throughout the house even b4 baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
this bread was awesome, i did have some problems but had i went through some reviews before hand i think i would have figured out why, 1. it didn't rise, being that theres so much sugar and eggs i should have added a lil more yeast or let it sit longer. overall i'm not taking it to Thanksgiving dinner since MINE did not rise, but hey it makes a great breakfast bread with sausage and egg... i will be trying this again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
The bread was undercooked in the middle. The flavor was fantastic, however. Still managed to goble it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I have made 2 half recipes of this & neither have risen at all until in the oven. The flavor is great & the texture is not bad, but it does not rise at all for me, even when sitting for up to 8 hours before I give up, make it into rolls & bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good! I scaled down the recipe to make about 20 rolls and added the grated zest of half an orange. I used less sugar to my own personal taste. Will make this recipe again! Thank you, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Thank you for this recipe. I lived in the azores on Terciera and fell in love with portugese sweet bread. I am so pleased with this recipe. Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Had trouble getting to rise the first time. Used Rapid rise the second time and it worked wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tumble4me

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States