Portuguese Sweet Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe was alright but I'm still looking for a recipe that has a true sweetbread flavor. This recipe seems like it doesn't have enough sugar in it...? It has no vanilla or lemon flavoring and doesn't result in a fluffy, full loaf as I expected it would. Perhaps it could be tweaked to become what I expected but I would like to come by a true, old world sweetbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makingitcount

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Anxious to try! Fond memories of my G-Grandmother (sao Miguel,Azores-Hawaii-USA) making this bread. She would place the huge bowl of dough on the dryer to rise & the aroma would be throughout the house even b4 baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
this bread was awesome, i did have some problems but had i went through some reviews before hand i think i would have figured out why, 1. it didn't rise, being that theres so much sugar and eggs i should have added a lil more yeast or let it sit longer. overall i'm not taking it to Thanksgiving dinner since MINE did not rise, but hey it makes a great breakfast bread with sausage and egg... i will be trying this again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
The bread was undercooked in the middle. The flavor was fantastic, however. Still managed to goble it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I have made 2 half recipes of this & neither have risen at all until in the oven. The flavor is great & the texture is not bad, but it does not rise at all for me, even when sitting for up to 8 hours before I give up, make it into rolls & bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good! I scaled down the recipe to make about 20 rolls and added the grated zest of half an orange. I used less sugar to my own personal taste. Will make this recipe again! Thank you, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Thank you for this recipe. I lived in the azores on Terciera and fell in love with portugese sweet bread. I am so pleased with this recipe. Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Had trouble getting to rise the first time. Used Rapid rise the second time and it worked wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tumble4me

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I have been making Portuguese sweet bread for 30 years and was looking for a recepie that was less dense. This one got a 5 for flavor and texture but a 3 for instructions. It took far longer to rise and cook than indicated. The full recipe is not for whimps...it is a LOT of dough to handle. I put some in mini loaf pans to give away...big hit! This will be my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I LOVED THIS! I made this bread for my high school grad party, and this was the main attraction!! This recipe made 6 loaves, and in less than 24 hours, all the loaves were gone. I read that people who reviewed had trouble getting the dough to rise, so I decided to add one extra package of yeast. The results were wonderful! This is an easy recipe and great for parties. I HIGHLY recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddiBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States