Portuguese Sweet Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I love it! Even using an off brand, self-rise flour, (and oh yes, I can tell the difference when it comes to breads) it turned out wonderfully. Even my picky 5 year old ate two slices by itself. Thank you so very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patriot, Ohio, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I've tried this a couple of times. I lave the bread but it rises like crazy and then collapses in the middle. Is it me? My cheapo bread machine? Or is there a real reason? Please help. I'm new to this and my wife is laughing at me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I tried this recipe today. It came out perfect. It tastes wonderful. Definitely doing this one agajn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Our exchange student from Brazil very much appreciated this bread. Said it matched her mothers. What a complimant ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I disliked the lemon taste. Was dissapointing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
The bread turns out to be really creamy and yummy. During the first kneading cycle, the dough appeared to be a little wet, so I added about another tablespoon of flour during the second kneading cycle. The bread is not very sweet, you can for sure add another 1/4 cup of sugar to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bleuettr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Wowww So good! I did what another person wrote, and buttered and fried left over bread... I have never had anything like it, It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was a nice bread with a nice flavor, but, it is not the Portuguese Sweet Bread I was raised with. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Barreto

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
GREAT BREAD.FIRST LOAF I MADE ,TURNED OUT EXACTLY AS PROMISED. NICE TEXTURE AND GREAT TASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This may be a sweet bread made by someone who is Portuguese but it is not the yellow egg bread which is what real Portuguese Sweet Bread is and has always been about; whether bought at the festivals or what my Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLorDaGama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States