Portuguese Sweet Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
It tasted great but it didn't rise for me. I'm almost positive my yeast is alive since it is still new. I have a 2lb bread maker and it only filled about halfway. Is this recipe for a 1lb maker? It also was not very sweet at all! Makes great sandwich bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Boyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
The dough is a bit sticky... but the results are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanessaKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
This makes a beautiful loaf with great texture and flavor. I made this for French toast and it didn't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This is my family's favorite! Great just to eat or with sandwiches. It makes a nice big loaf in my Zojirushi. I use the Basic cycle because there isn't a Sweet Bread setting on my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I make this regularly. It is just sweet enough. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jes Schaulis
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wisner, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Wonderful "New-World" way to make my great-great grandmother's "Old-World" bread! Word of advice: to make it sweet you really should heat up the milk first. Also, if your family is from Madeira Island like mine and you are used to this bread having Anise seed in it, I found that adding 1 tsp of crushed Anise seed was the perfect amount. This saves me so much time- no more spending the ENTIRE day making Portuguese sweet bread! Thanks for the adaptation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This bread came out AMAZING!!!! My kids, neighbors, and I all loved it! It has the perfect amount of sweetness to it, and it's so soft and fluffy. And the smell... fantastic! I think this will be our go-to bread from now on. Changes I made: I read some reviews stating it overflowed in their bread machines, and since my machine only makes 1 Lb or 1-1/2 Lb loaves, I reduced the amount of yeast to 2-1/4 tsp (that was the maximum amount the recipes in my owner's manual called for, so I didn't want to exceed that). I also added closer to 1/2 C sugar, and added a splash of vanilla. I also brushed it with a mixture of melted butter and honey spread once I put it on a wire rack to cool. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I have adapted this recipe because I do not have a bread machine but follow the recipe but make it by hand, and it turns out fabulous. Also, bake in mini pie pans and makes a great bun for turkey sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Wow this is awesome! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States