Portuguese Steamed Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I used a few things differently but thats what makes great cooks.The clams are the important part and out here in washington state we have lots of choices for what type of clams we use.I dug these about 20 miles from my home and they were 2"/2.5" manila butter clams. I used 28 oz. san marzano tomatoes,3 garlic cloves chopped,spicy Italian sausages and garnished each serving with fresh basil.I used ingelnook chardenee because it makes good sipping while waiting for the clams to cook.I guess it really is closer to Italian steamed clams.I served it with toasted three cheese rustic bread drizzled with virgin olive oil.Got a standing ovation from everyone.I couldn't buy chorizo in the casings so chosed the italian sausage.I was told the chorizo is too greasy,anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was fantastic and SO fast. With prep, it takes no more than 30 minutes. I did not have clams, but used 1 lb of frozen NZ Mussles (did not thaw). I also only had 12oz of Chorizo. I did not use less of the other ingredients, as I wanted lots of broth. As others suggested, I added 2 large tbsp. of chopped garlic and also some dried parsley. It was terrific and my husband gave it a huge thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seasonedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Hubby thought this was absolutely fabulous! Used beer instead of wine, added small red potatoes and a few red pepper flakes. Thank you Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Awesome! This recipe is a keeper, thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBUNNII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Absolutely wonderful.. I also added a couple of large chunks of celery while steaming.. You can grill thick slices of crusty bread rubbed with a clove of garlic to dip in the tasty juices..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I'm not a big steamer fan, but I made this for guests last night and they couldn't get enough of it! Everyone loved it. Served with dilled shrimp, restaurant-style house salad, old boy's strawberry pie all from this web site. Also had lobsters. Oh! And lightly steamed then chilled asparagas drizzled with raspberry vinagrette dressing from this site. GREAT meal - especially these steamers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Great tasting, fast, easy, and surly a dish the whole family can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I liked this so much I built a food list around it! Brings back memories of the summers we spent in the New Bedford area. My Polish meat-and-potatoes loving husband would never eat a clam, but the rest of us love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Truly an easy recipe and very tasty. I did however add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of water just to make a little bit more broth and about 2 cloves of fresh chopped garlic. Truly a favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Wow! This recipe is great, I did add a couple things, 2 large cloves of fresh garlic and fresh parsley and hot pepper flakes. I served it with a bowl of salad dressed with fresh lemon juice, oregano and olive oil, and of course crusty whole wheat bread. I also used hot Sopressato, couldn't find Chorizo. I had dinner ready in less than 30 minutes; Thanks! for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States