Portuguese Steamed Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Truly an easy recipe and very tasty. I did however add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of water just to make a little bit more broth and about 2 cloves of fresh chopped garlic. Truly a favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Absolutely wonderful.. I also added a couple of large chunks of celery while steaming.. You can grill thick slices of crusty bread rubbed with a clove of garlic to dip in the tasty juices..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Awesome! This recipe is a keeper, thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBUNNII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Followed this to the letter...flavor was all there...something was missing... chorizo was dominant where I thought the clams should have been...This would make a great base for a soup or chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DocDave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Hubby thought this was absolutely fabulous! Used beer instead of wine, added small red potatoes and a few red pepper flakes. Thank you Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was fantastic and SO fast. With prep, it takes no more than 30 minutes. I did not have clams, but used 1 lb of frozen NZ Mussles (did not thaw). I also only had 12oz of Chorizo. I did not use less of the other ingredients, as I wanted lots of broth. As others suggested, I added 2 large tbsp. of chopped garlic and also some dried parsley. It was terrific and my husband gave it a huge thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seasonedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I'm not a big steamer fan, but I made this for guests last night and they couldn't get enough of it! Everyone loved it. Served with dilled shrimp, restaurant-style house salad, old boy's strawberry pie all from this web site. Also had lobsters. Oh! And lightly steamed then chilled asparagas drizzled with raspberry vinagrette dressing from this site. GREAT meal - especially these steamers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These clams were awesome! Following the advice of other reviewers, I too add minced garlic. I also added 2 tsp pimenta moida (fermented pepper paste). Being of Portuguese decent, pimenta moida is a staple in my house. It's available in the international section of most groceries stores. Don't forget crusty bread to dip in the sauce, which I doubled for this purpose. Thanks Star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These were so tasty and delicious. These simple ingredients really turn a pot of clams into a delicious stew...the broth was amazing, provide spoons, too. I just eyeballed the ingredients and added a a cup or so extra chicken stock and a chunk of butter to the mix. Took previous reviewers advice and added some prepared minced garlic, too. Some thin sliced baguette and a glass of cold chardonney, what a fun summer meal. Loved these & hubs raved. Will definitely do again. Many thanks for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I didn't have quite enough clams so I threw in my scallops and it was wonderful. Fast, easy and very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States