Portuguese Steamed Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Awesome! This recipe is a keeper, thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBUNNII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Absolutely wonderful.. I also added a couple of large chunks of celery while steaming.. You can grill thick slices of crusty bread rubbed with a clove of garlic to dip in the tasty juices..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I'm not a big steamer fan, but I made this for guests last night and they couldn't get enough of it! Everyone loved it. Served with dilled shrimp, restaurant-style house salad, old boy's strawberry pie all from this web site. Also had lobsters. Oh! And lightly steamed then chilled asparagas drizzled with raspberry vinagrette dressing from this site. GREAT meal - especially these steamers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Great tasting, fast, easy, and surly a dish the whole family can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I liked this so much I built a food list around it! Brings back memories of the summers we spent in the New Bedford area. My Polish meat-and-potatoes loving husband would never eat a clam, but the rest of us love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Truly an easy recipe and very tasty. I did however add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of water just to make a little bit more broth and about 2 cloves of fresh chopped garlic. Truly a favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Hubby thought this was absolutely fabulous! Used beer instead of wine, added small red potatoes and a few red pepper flakes. Thank you Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Great recipe. Very easy to follow and delicious. There are only two of us, so I only used 2 pounds of clams, but same amount of broth and worked great and lots of broth afterward. We also added 4 cloves of garlic and used ground chorizo instead of the kind you cut. I browned the chorizo before adding the rest of the ingredients and the clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Growing up just 8 minutes from Rhode Island I had to try this recipe...I grew up with food like this. We just finished dinner and it was a clear thumbs up with everyone in my family. (even my picky 6 year old). The broth was so tasty and crusty bread was great to dip into it. The best thing...it was so easy that my 10 year old could have made this recipe by himself. Quick, Easy and what a treat. What could be better than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I personally did not care for the flavor of sausage and onions in my clams. Tasted to heavy. I gave it a try, but, I much prefer clams italiano recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States