Portuguese Steamed Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Wow! This recipe is great, I did add a couple things, 2 large cloves of fresh garlic and fresh parsley and hot pepper flakes. I served it with a bowl of salad dressed with fresh lemon juice, oregano and olive oil, and of course crusty whole wheat bread. I also used hot Sopressato, couldn't find Chorizo. I had dinner ready in less than 30 minutes; Thanks! for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
We made a similar recipe for 30 summers while in Woods Hole. I'm back for a few weeks and wanted to be sure I knew how to cook this favorite. This was helpful-except we always use linguica instead. Doc Dave-try it with linguica-it won't "take over" the dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Followed this to the letter...flavor was all there...something was missing... chorizo was dominant where I thought the clams should have been...This would make a great base for a soup or chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DocDave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I didn't have quite enough clams so I threw in my scallops and it was wonderful. Fast, easy and very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Excellent. I've been eyeballing this recipe for a while and finally bought some clams to make it. My canned tomatoes had olive oil and garlic added, which went really well. I halved the recipe for the amount of clams I had, and made the rest as written. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I personally did not care for the flavor of sausage and onions in my clams. Tasted to heavy. I gave it a try, but, I much prefer clams italiano recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Growing up just 8 minutes from Rhode Island I had to try this recipe...I grew up with food like this. We just finished dinner and it was a clear thumbs up with everyone in my family. (even my picky 6 year old). The broth was so tasty and crusty bread was great to dip into it. The best thing...it was so easy that my 10 year old could have made this recipe by himself. Quick, Easy and what a treat. What could be better than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Great recipe. Very easy to follow and delicious. There are only two of us, so I only used 2 pounds of clams, but same amount of broth and worked great and lots of broth afterward. We also added 4 cloves of garlic and used ground chorizo instead of the kind you cut. I browned the chorizo before adding the rest of the ingredients and the clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Hubby thought this was absolutely fabulous! Used beer instead of wine, added small red potatoes and a few red pepper flakes. Thank you Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Truly an easy recipe and very tasty. I did however add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of water just to make a little bit more broth and about 2 cloves of fresh chopped garlic. Truly a favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States