Portuguese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I used chorizo (nearest I could find), no potatoes and lemon juice instead o vinegar (that's what I had at home). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! Make it for my family all the time. My daughters love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
The ketchup was the predominant flavor of the soup. It was very sweet. I thought the vinegar might balance out the sweetness somewhat, but it only added more of a sweet and sour element to it. I ended up adding a lot of beef stock, extra garlic, pepper, thyme, and so many other ingredients that I cannot remember all of them. We did eat it for dinner that night, and My kids loved it...kids usually do love ketchup. I guess if you like the idea of a sweet and sour tasting soup then you should give it a try. If you are expecting a rich, savory, complex Portuguese soup, then I would definitely recommend looking for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Very easy and a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this recipe just as it was written but I used white beans instead of kidney because that is what I had and it was amazing!! Love this recipe. Ketchup and vinegar in a soup sounds strange but it totally works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I rarely have reviewed any recipe on here good or bad in eight years, but this is beyond inexcusable. This is pure garbage, unless you have extremely low culinary standards, as in none, and think tangy catsup packet soup with a bunch of overcooked textureless meat and cabbage in it is delicious. Just call this garbage catsup packet soup. I even tried to salvage the waste of time and food quantity ($ as well) by adding a bunch of chili powder, beer, cumin and curry to try and make the sweet tangy ketchup broth edible and let it cook for an extra 45 mins and no go. Shame on you for posting this but even more so shame on you users who mislead with reviews. This is the second worst recipe I've tried on here out of the 100s if not 1000s I've tried. It is that bad. Don't waste your time, effort, and resources. You'll just end up ordering a pizza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I had a hard time getting the beans and potatoes to get tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I'm a 1st generation American born of Portuguese descent. My parents came here 1 year before I was born. They carried traditions and made meals from the country of Portugal. I grew up eating authenticly made Portuguese food every day of my life. I no longer live with my parents. But am trying to reconnect with my roots through food. I tried this recipe out. It turned out to be too spicy & vinegry. I've never seen my mom add ketchup to a soup like this recipe asks for. I gave the recipe a chance, but it didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
One of my absolute favorites! I'm originally from Hawaii but my paternal grandparents are Portuguese. Since I'm so far away from home this is my comfort food. I do what my grandmother does...add a little bit of "whatever". This time it's leftover Thanksgiving ham :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPA_GRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
my husband loves this soup..maybe he's from Slovakia..so I guess he likes European food ..anyway when he likes it, I like it,too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States