Portuguese Pork with Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
When I origially posted this recipe (under an old user account that I forgot) I left out the cup of chicken stock that you add just after the alcohol from the wine has cooked off. You should first remove the peppers and reduce the liquid by half before adding the pork and peppers back to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuart Miller
Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This dish was terrific, particularly if you like pepper. After removing the pork from the pan, I added a bit of cornstarch to thicken the sauce just a touch. Also used a red, an orange and a yellow pepper for splendid colour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I didn't have anything but red wine and used it instead and the dish was INCREDIBLE! The pepper is very spicy so the next time I will not only use the right kind of wine for the proper taste, but, I will cut back on the black pepper for the 4 little eatters at my table......moist...very, very, moist! A real meat stretcher dish too with leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was quite a challenge without a mortar and pestle but with patience, perseverance and the flat side of a chef's knife I got the job done. This was just delicious. The contrast of the bite of the peppercorns with the sweetness of the red pepper was interesting, piquant and delicious. This "paste" permeates the meat and flavors it beautifully and that, coupled with the wine and chicken broth the submitter advised to add in a separate review, made for a wonderful sauce. I left the lemon off mine, hubs included it in his - -we were both pleased as pie! I served this with rice pilaf (parsley buttered potatoes would have been good too) and fresh asparagus. Great dish with a lovely presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was an excellent recipe! My family loved it. I didn't get to marinate but about 20 minutes & it was still fantastic. I also did not make a paste, but used crushed garlic out of a jar (don't have a mortar & pestle), & actually, with that much meat I think it worked better as a marinade. I used my favorite white wine and followed another Reviewer's suggestion to add cornstarch to the leftover sauce, which turned out to be a good idea. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Wonderful! I used a combination of red, yellow, and orange bell peppers. Skipped the lemon slices, but the lemon juice is a must. We had this with plain couscous and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I like this recipe a lot. Although I substituted water for the wine, I still found the sauteed red pepper sauce quite flavorful. Next time I will double the red pepper sauce part as it was so tasty I couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carlita
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe tasted much better than I expected, even after I read all the 5 star reviews. I did some of the suggestions others did such as using diff colored peppers, adding the chicken stock, splash of balsamic and corn starch to thicken. I marinated my pork overnight. This was so delish - I served it over buttered egg noodles. I will definitely make this again and may use more stock since the sauce is so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
My family loved this - husband and teenage son. Used coarse ground black pepper (cut back on quantity a bit), combo of red and green pepper, added some red onion and did not have fresh lemon on hand, so used Minute Maid lemon juice you get in the freezer case. I think some sliced fresh mushrooms would be good with this too! Served over rice. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Quick - easy and I loved using my mortar and pestle - I always feel like the mad scientist and anyone around are really impressed!!! Followed recipe exactly and it was perfect. I was going to add more garlic but didn't and was glad I followed the recipe. Thanks submitter. As an after thought, adding bite size chunks of onions may be something I might try the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States