Portuguese Pork with Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Fool proof recipe - I didn't marinate, the pork chops were still partly frozen when I cubed them. I didn't have peppercorns or corse salt, so used regular pepper and sea salt. I even forgot the lemon juice at the end and it was REALLY GOOD. I can't imagine how great it will be when I actually follow the recipe! (I did use the 1 cup chicken broth in addition to the wine that another user suggested)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I marinated them overnight and they were so delicious! We all loved it- will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Made this tonight for my family. Everyone really loved it. I served with potatoes whipped with mascarpone cheese, parmesan and herbs. Will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Wow! I loved this! The taste is great! We followed the recipe -- with the one exception of adding a spash of balsamic vinegar to the sauce. It was excellent. Next time we would increase the amount of the marinade by double. Terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
WOW! I have been an allrecipes.com user for years and this was the first recipe which inspired me to write a review. I made this recipe for my Portuguese parents and served over egg noodles- truly moist and delicious. The next day we had the left overs in soft Portuguese rolls- pure heaven! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
When I origially posted this recipe (under an old user account that I forgot) I left out the cup of chicken stock that you add just after the alcohol from the wine has cooked off. You should first remove the peppers and reduce the liquid by half before adding the pork and peppers back to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuart Miller
Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
What a wonderful dish! I don't have a large mortar and pestle so used an mini chop. It did not break all the peppercorns so I did crush a few with my small mortar and pestle. Quite a few of the peppercorns remained whole. Although I thought it would be too peppery, it was such a hit at our house that it made the DEFINITELY MAKE AGAIN, AND SOON! list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
It seems i ended up cooking the meat too long as it came out a bit tough...otherwise the mixture was good but nothing out of this world...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
My family loved this - husband and teenage son. Used coarse ground black pepper (cut back on quantity a bit), combo of red and green pepper, added some red onion and did not have fresh lemon on hand, so used Minute Maid lemon juice you get in the freezer case. I think some sliced fresh mushrooms would be good with this too! Served over rice. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Loved it! The red peppers had great flavor, and the lemon added so much. I've made this twice in two weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States