Portuguese Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Im 100% Portuguese, born in Azores, Portugal, this recipe needed help. This is what I did to improve it 100%. Instead of beef bones I used 8 c boiling water and to it added 8 beef bouillon cubes, I also used 2 c homemade re-heated Chicken Stock. I used 2 cans Red Kidney beans, my preference, u can use one red and one can of Chick peas. I also added 1 can Diced tomatoes. First I sauted 2 onions & 5 cloves garlic in 2T Olive Oil for 7 min. Then I added chopped in quarters the whole package Gaspars linguica, chopped and quartered, sauted that for 10 min. covered, stirring occasionally. Then added canned beans & tomatoes, and 2 bay leaves. Let that simmer, 20 min. then added the beef bouillon and chicken stock, and 1/2c Portuguese White Wine, let that simmer ag. ab. 15 min. Lastly, I added 5 chopped peeled potatoes, 3 bunches chopped Kale, 1/2 head of chopped cabbage, 4 oz tiny pasta and some sea salt & black pepper to taste. Done in 15 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
The first time I made it I followed this to a tee. I made the soup a second time but after talking to a elderly Portuguese lady, I decided to try it again. Her recipe calls for white and red Kidney beens (1 can of each), Stew beef, both mild and hot sausage,also 1 large box of beef or veg broth. Salt and Pepper to taste, and a little hot sherry sauce in ea bowl. After adding everything but the kitchen sink this was a keeper on a cold winter day. Not much fat either if you use the light sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is a decent recipe but it had VERY little flavor until we added coriander, bay leaves, cumin, chili paste, thyme, garlic, pepper, and a truckload of salt. The cabbage I thought was unnecessary. All that said I've eaten 2+ bowls at each sitting and really like the dish. The recipe just needs some serious tricking up. Next time I would also add perhaps another half pound of sausage to compensate for the huge amount of soup it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Excellent soup! I live in SE Mass and this is truly what Portuguese Kale Soup should taste like! I modified the recipe a bit. Instead of beef bones, I used about 4 cups of chicken broth and approximately 5 cups of water with 5 beef bullion cubes. Also, instead of soaking beans overnight, I used two cans of red kidney beans without rinsing (to thicken the broth). I added a teaspoon of minced garlic and 1 chopped medium onion in addition to a bit of onion powder and garlic powder. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Nice flavor and healthy soup. I used 1 pre-made beef and 1 pre-made chicken stock instead of using soup bones. Nice flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
We all loved this soup, including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I have a picky family when it comes to healhty eating and always think my organic ways will poison them! Even though they've ate this way all their lives, they are now teenagers. Do I say more? BUT this soup, which I've made twice now, has been a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Tasty! I subbed linguisa and beef broth and added minced garlic & onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I used authentic HOT Michael's chourico hand carried over from RI. That seemed to be the problem. Maybe it was in grandma's freezer too long? I sliced it thin but it was so tough and aside from a tell tale bit of heat was otherwise lacking in flavor. I fished it out and added a smoked sausage and some pepper flakes and cayanne to heat it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
John your mother's recipe is the best Kale soup. I never had Kale soup before but my husband's family was spending the weekend and he said that I should make his mother's Kale soup for the night they arrive.His family already left their house before I realized I couldn't find her recipe. I asked my husband what goes in and of course he said I don't know I just ate it, my Mother made it. So I found your recipe on line and went with it. I served it with some fresh Portuguese rolls and the whole family enjoyed it, even arguing who gets the left overs. My Mother in law came up to me after dinner and asked what I did to improve her soup? I had to tell her what happened and she wanted your recipe. So even A pure 100% Portuguese woman loved your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States