Portuguese Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This recipe has got to be the best! Only reason I did not give 5 stars to the kid friendly rating is because it may be too spicy for really young children. Instead of dried, I used canned white northern beans, tossed everything into the pot and let it simmer. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Delicious simple soup. I used some hot smoked Hungarian sausage in place of chorizo. I also cheated by using low sodium beef boullion in place of the beef bones. I used the canned beans also. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This is very tasty! I used hot Portuguese Linguisa sausage, red cabbage, yellow potatoes, three cans of beef broth (and added some extra water)and a pinch of crushed red pepper along with the kale and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This was good, but way too spicy for me (because of the meat). I didn't have any bones so left that out. I cooked this in a crockpot and it sure smelled good! Makes a generous amount. Would be great soup to chase away a cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
John, your mom certainly knew what she was doing because my family and I agreed that this was one of the best soups we've ever eaten! I didn't add the bones to the soup, however, slowly roasted beef bones the day before and then made my stock.(better flavor) The following day I was then able to get rid of the fat that had surfaced and hardened. If I hadn't already had the bones in the house, I would have just used canned low salt beef broth and consomme. I did add more seasonings to the soup (garlic and onion powders) along with a can of beef consomme for some added flavor. Hubby did the grocery shopping and couldn't find pea beans, so we used canned pinto beans instead. Our grocery store didn't carry chorizo, so he decided to go to a specialty market to get it and paid $11.00 a pound for the sausage. Yikes! The kale held up beautifully in the soup (thanks Mic for the 411 on kale), the chorizo added a hint of heat and the cabbage mellowed out the whole soup with a touch of sweetness. Thanks for an amazing and delicious soup recipe that's even more appreciated on a sub-zero winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Excellent Kale soup!!! The best recipe I have had yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This is the best soup.I grew up with this soup.I have 5 kids and they all love it.I us red kidney beans and blend it before putting it in the soup and use potatoe flakes instead of potatoes and sometimes I cook 2 yellow potates whole and take outwhen its cook and blend it and add back to the soup anlone with the water i cook the potaotes in. I get the chorizo at market basket or the portugues fish marketand sometime i us linguica and pay about 4 to 5 dollars a pound
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I didn't follow the recipe to the letter, for instance, I added some diced carrots, onion, celery, and garlic; and used sun-dried tomato chicken sausage, but my family really liked it. My five year old son said it was "really good soup". I blended up a few of the vegetables and about half of the beans. Yummy soup-thanks for the recipe-we need to eat more kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I tried this soup for the first time and it is wonderful, it has great flavor and just the right amount of spice to keep my texan husband happy, it's also a great way to get him to eat kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
good soup! i also add 1-2 cans of peas smashed. stew beef 1lb. hand full of ditalini macaroni during the last 5-10 min of cooking..and 2 cans of kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States