Portuguese Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Made this and loved it. The kids loved it too. I did tweak it a bit. I sauteed 1 chopped onion and 1 clove of garlic. I added 1 cup of ground chorizo as well as linguica sausage and I used 1/2 navy beans and 1/2 red beans. I also added some Sazon (which is a spanish seasoning, sometimes foung in the ethnic food aisle). This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
My grandmother made this - was my favorite soup growing up. She has passed, and I couldn't find the recipe. So glad to have found it! This is almost exactly like she made it! (No one could ever make it like her, or your Mom, etc!) Thank you so much for the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is a good recipe and if you're from R.I. or SE Mass then you know all about Portugese soup. I'll give you a couple of twists on the recipe provided that will make it a little easier and taste great. For the broth use 1/2 beef broth and 1/2 chicken broth. No need to make your own unless you really want to. Around here we don't use the cabbage and we use either red kidney beans or pinto beans. In other parts of the country it is hard to find Chourico....(not to be confused with Chourizo which is Mexican and is very different), but the Chourico is essential! Linguica comes in a close second and is easier to find. If you really want to taste authentic Portugese soup then you really should make the effort to find the Chourico. But beware!! it is spicy! This is great soup that tastes very unique but try it without the kids first..it may be a little much for them. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I've never had kale but got a whole lot from a local farm, so I turned to allrecipes to figure out what to do with it. I was skeptical, but this was a success! Hubby and I both liked it, but kiddos only ate the potatoes. I didn't know what white pea beans were, so I used two cans of black eyed peas. I used beef broth instead of the soup bones. I cut back on the cabbage because it all wouldn't fit in my biggest stock pot. How much is one bunch of kale? I just had a huge bag of it from the farmers. Anyhow, I'm not scared of kale anymore and plan to try other recipes too! (Like I said, I've got a huge bag of it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I love soup, and I wasn't too into this soup. We had a bunch left over and my husband didn't touch it (and he eats everything). I think it was too peppery without much depth. Tasted good for you but just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
good soup! i also add 1-2 cans of peas smashed. stew beef 1lb. hand full of ditalini macaroni during the last 5-10 min of cooking..and 2 cans of kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I tried this soup for the first time and it is wonderful, it has great flavor and just the right amount of spice to keep my texan husband happy, it's also a great way to get him to eat kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I didn't follow the recipe to the letter, for instance, I added some diced carrots, onion, celery, and garlic; and used sun-dried tomato chicken sausage, but my family really liked it. My five year old son said it was "really good soup". I blended up a few of the vegetables and about half of the beans. Yummy soup-thanks for the recipe-we need to eat more kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This is the best soup.I grew up with this soup.I have 5 kids and they all love it.I us red kidney beans and blend it before putting it in the soup and use potatoe flakes instead of potatoes and sometimes I cook 2 yellow potates whole and take outwhen its cook and blend it and add back to the soup anlone with the water i cook the potaotes in. I get the chorizo at market basket or the portugues fish marketand sometime i us linguica and pay about 4 to 5 dollars a pound
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Excellent Kale soup!!! The best recipe I have had yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States