Portuguese Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This is the original recipe that my Grandmother (born in Terciera, Azores Portugal) Jeronima rest her soul, used to make for us as a child. the pea beans are also referred to as Navy beans. I throw everything in the crock pot including a beef shank which has been our tradition...mmmmm.....Oh a little taste of home.Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
An excellent Portuguese classic recipe from the Azores. Spent my childhood in Fall River, MA where natives consider it a weekly staple. I have chourice shipped to PA so I can enjoy this ethnic delight with homemade Portuguese bread. Go John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is almost exactly the recipe of my hubby's grandmother RIP Grandma J--( her maiden name was Pacheco) and from Providence RI -- she also added some cooked elbow macaroni to stretch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
If not living in SE Mass, Gaspar's Chourico and Linguica can be found in Publix supermarkets, or you can order it from Gaspar's directly (located in North Dartmouth, MA)...then you can also make your own linguica pizzas! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
extremely good. wonderful blend of flavors. i did not use beef bones for broth, i used low sodium beef broth in a carton and homemade turkey broth i had in the freezer. i also used pinto beans, what i had on hand. it makes a LOT of soup! it will make great lunches through the week. next time i will have to try to find the authentic Portugese sausages instead of chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious! I couldn't give it 5 stars because I changed the recipe to what I had on had. I used 2 cans chicken broth and 2 cans of beef broth, 2 cans Italian style diced tomatoes and 2 cans of cannelini beans. 1lb of Linguica, 2 bunches of swiss chard, 1/2 a head of cabbage, 2 onions chopped, 8 cloves of garlic, and 5 small potatoes. I also used 2 bay leaves. I sauted the onion and garlic, then added the linguica. Cooked that for about 5 min then added the tomatoes and bay leaves. I rinsed the beans then added the broths and beans. I brought that to a boil then added the remaining ingredients and salt and pepper. I will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NrsJan4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
If any one remembers ALBERT'S restaurant in Stoughton, well, this is the closest recipe to his soup. LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Great soup!! I had already made my own beef broth so I used that instead of the bones and water. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I found this soup to be quite BLAND. I could taste a hint of spice from the chorizo the first night, but by the next evening, the spiciness was gone. I found this odd, as most soups become more flavorful as they sit and the different flavors mingle. I halved the recipe, but used the same amount of beef bones called for in a full batch. Other than that, I followed this recipe to a tee. I had started my soup quite early in the day, so I had time to make adjustments to the final product. I added two tablespoons of minced garlic that I sautéed, some beef consommé, several tablespoons of beef base (since I only had a small amount of consommé on hand) and a large amount of salt. With these additions, my husband said he found the soup to be tasty. I think this soup would be better prepared with smoked ham shanks verses beef bones. I would double the amount of beans and chorizo called for; browning the chorizo before adding it to the soup. I would also add onion, minced garlic, and use chicken stock in place of the beef. If I did use beef bones, I would definitely use beef consommé to give the soup a more robust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I browned the meat in the pot and then added a dash of white wine to scrape up the fond for extra flavor. I used garlic, red pepper flakes, paprika and onion powder as others have suggested. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States