Portuguese Fried Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2000
This is a very good recipe. I made it for a potluck a couple of weeks ago and it went over great. I made a double recipe and there was none left. I was making it when my daughter got home from school, I had her try a piece and then had to keep her out of it. I had to promise to make it again for us. I made the mistake of rolling out the dough, it makes them kind of hard and chewwy. We liked ours best when it was soft and chew. Good recipe, you should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I'll make this again! This has a good taste and fine texture. It's good with butter and honey. Next time I might cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
I was really impressed with this bread. I made the dough balls small, just bigger than a golf ball. Next time, I'll try them bigger. They had a nice flavor, good texture. They were just as wonderful when they were cold, tasted even sweeter! I wasn't in the kitchen very long, I like that! Thank you for sharing this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Be sure to make the balls small; otherwise the bread gets a bit doughy. I really recommend this with a spicy seafood stew or soup. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. My daughter made it for me and I just had to have it. Soft and chewy, these were excellent with my homemade soup. Best when the balls are golf ball sized. My husband loves them as much as I did. I really recommend that you try these ASAP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Very tasty and easy...thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This is a wonderful treat and it is easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsica, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Geddes, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I made these to go along with Chichen Tortilla Soup III (on this site...Yummmmm)and they were very good. I only got about 12-14 using golf ball sized balls of dough. I served them in a cloth-napkin lined basket and they stayed warm for at least 30-40 min.I good item for a brunch or buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Really great recipe! My boyfriend loved them and is asking for them every night now. :-) It's nice that it's this easy to spoil him a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
What a wonderful recipe! We've made these as is and with several variations - add a handful of chopped fresh basil or some parmesan cheese, garlic powder/salt, chopped onion etc. Possibilities are endless and they are super fast and easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States