Portuguese Favas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Great recipe with the following changes: I only used 2 large onions, substituted 1 tbsp. of hot crushed red pepper (the liquid kind like Antonio's brand). I also fried up 1 stick of turkey chourico (diced Ito small chunks) with the onions and garlic. I used 2 (1lb 3 oz cans of Progresso Favas beans that I added in the beginning and simmered with the sauce until they were soft. Favas would have been a little crunchy if I had not done that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this twice both times with fresh fava beans. They were spicy hot, good but very hot, definitely good with a cold beer! The first time, I didn't know how to cook the fava beans properly so I'm pretty sure we were eating part of the "inedible" skin. If you are using fresh fava beans for the first time, lucky you, but you'll have to cook them before "cooking" them in thais recipe. The recipe calls for canned fava beans so I'm sure the canned ones are already cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
good, added linguica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Could not find favas anywhere in my city, so instead I used lima beans. The sauce to me seemed mild and somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
thank you john this is almost what my mom used to make!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe and just like the portuguese feasts. Might be a little spicy for some ,but you can always adjust the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very tasty. I, too, cut back on red pepper and had to use other broad beans because I couldn't get favas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I cut the pepper flakes down to 1 tsp and it still had quite a kick - even for my Israeli BF who can stand heat. I used dry red runner beans which created quite a fiasco to cook (ended up doing it in a pressure cooker) but the result was great - hearty, healthy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
As a Portuguese who now lives in Portugal, I recomend adding in some bacon cubes along with Portuguese chouriço sliced but not to thin, let it stew with the fava beans, when all cooked try using fresh chopped ciliantro sprinkled over top, its absolutly wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Easy to make and DH enjoyed it. Didn't change anything - We like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States