Portuguese Chourico and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
It came out like mush. Almost like a meat spread. Maybe better with sliced meat instead of crumbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Tastes like growing up in Massachusetts; like home. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I was not sure what to expect before cooking this. I love all of the ingredients, so I figured I would give it a try. My wife and I really enjoyed this recipe. To give the most basic summary: It tasted very similar to a more common dish, Stuffed Bell Peppers (just with a little spice). We had it both as a sandwich and over rice. Since there was lots of liquid in ours, the rice worked a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifuh
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I actually made this in a skillet for a quick weeknight meal. Started with chorizo then added onion, peppers then garlic. I deglazed the pan with white wine (personal preference) and then used some chicken stock and let it cook down a little. I added the tomato paste when I added the stock and also threw in a can of diced tomatoes. I don't like green bell pepper so I used sweet yellow and it was pretty good over rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is one of the best slow cooker recipes I have tried. I made this to go over pasta so I didn’t reduce the liquid as instructed and it was perfect. I admit I was a little apprehensive about not browning the chourico but there is no need to because the appearance and taste was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Yum! I sauteed the sausage in a bit of olive oil first, then the onions until soft, then the peppers. Cooked for a bit then added garlic and a cup of frozen corn kernels. Brought the wine and a cup of chicken broth to a boil, then cooked in oven at 250 F for an hour (I do not have a slow cooker). It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was very good! I used turkey chourico and just cooked it in a skillet. I used one green pepper and one red, and served it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Lovely reminder of my time in the Azores. Here's a tip . . . remove the skins from the peppers first for less pepper "bite" and a more silky mouthfeel. Freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
If you use the true Portuguese chourico sausage, it will not be oily. The Spanish and Mexican chorizo are very different from the Portuguese chourico. A mixture of various peppers makes this dish very colourful and appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage-Stuffed Piquillo Peppers

See how to make Spanish-influenced stuffed pimento peppers.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States