Portuguese Chourico and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
It came out like mush. Almost like a meat spread. Maybe better with sliced meat instead of crumbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Tastes like growing up in Massachusetts; like home. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I was not sure what to expect before cooking this. I love all of the ingredients, so I figured I would give it a try. My wife and I really enjoyed this recipe. To give the most basic summary: It tasted very similar to a more common dish, Stuffed Bell Peppers (just with a little spice). We had it both as a sandwich and over rice. Since there was lots of liquid in ours, the rice worked a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifuh
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I actually made this in a skillet for a quick weeknight meal. Started with chorizo then added onion, peppers then garlic. I deglazed the pan with white wine (personal preference) and then used some chicken stock and let it cook down a little. I added the tomato paste when I added the stock and also threw in a can of diced tomatoes. I don't like green bell pepper so I used sweet yellow and it was pretty good over rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is one of the best slow cooker recipes I have tried. I made this to go over pasta so I didn’t reduce the liquid as instructed and it was perfect. I admit I was a little apprehensive about not browning the chourico but there is no need to because the appearance and taste was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Yum! I sauteed the sausage in a bit of olive oil first, then the onions until soft, then the peppers. Cooked for a bit then added garlic and a cup of frozen corn kernels. Brought the wine and a cup of chicken broth to a boil, then cooked in oven at 250 F for an hour (I do not have a slow cooker). It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was very good! I used turkey chourico and just cooked it in a skillet. I used one green pepper and one red, and served it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Lovely reminder of my time in the Azores. Here's a tip . . . remove the skins from the peppers first for less pepper "bite" and a more silky mouthfeel. Freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
If you use the true Portuguese chourico sausage, it will not be oily. The Spanish and Mexican chorizo are very different from the Portuguese chourico. A mixture of various peppers makes this dish very colourful and appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Sausage-Stuffed Piquillo Peppers

See how to make Spanish-influenced stuffed pimento peppers.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States