Portuguese Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
DIVINE! I used 6 pieces of boneless chicken, 1.5 cups CHARDONNAY (this white is drier than say a sweet Reisling - DRY is KEY!), 1 cup stock, 6 garlic cloves. You need to give the sauce time to thicken once you add the cream. I mixed my leftover chicken, sauce, & rice altogether and saved it for lunch the next day - but I ended up eating it before bed it was so good!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I just finished eating this, and I gotta give it 5 stars. It was really tasty and fairly easy to prepare. The one complaint I have about the recipe is the ingredients list 1 tsp each of salt & pepper and the recipe doesn't tell you what to do with them. I added them to sauce while it was reducing and that worked out well for me. Maybe that's why other reviewers thought the sauce was bland - it would have been without the S&P. I thought the consistency of the sauce was perfect, like gravy. I didn't serve with rice, I did pasta with tomato sauce instead and it didn't really go well with the chicken. Next time I will serve with garlic mashed potatoes - it would be fantastic with the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Looked good, but I don't like gummy chicken skin. Instead of following the recipe directions exactly, I cooked the chicken, removed it to a warmer just before finishing, deglazed the pan and proceeded with the sauce directions. When the sauce was reduced to just the right consistency (coated the back of a spoon), I popped the chicken breasts under the broiler to crisp the skin. Pretty plating helped me to avoid mushing the crisp skin: layer the sauce over the plate, add mashed potatoes slightly off center, prop the chicken up against the potatoes and drizzle a little extra sauce over the potatoes. Garnish with chopped fresh scallion and some smoked paprika and you've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was excellent. I cut down on the fat a little, such as frying in a smaller amount of butter mixed with olive oil, then drained the fat off before proceeding. The sauce turned out fine in terms of thickness. The key is to reduce the broth quite a bit before adding any cream. I would serve this to guests any time. The chicken was succulent and tender. We had it with steamed baby potatos instead of rice. This one's a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARA200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This is not the Portugese Chicken recipe that Vavo use to make. This is EASY and very TASTY. I did not use butter and used just a little olive oil. I also replaced the cream with tomato sauce. Even my picky children ate every bite and the hubby made sure he wiped up all the sauce on his plate with a nice crusty slice of bread. This is definetly a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This smelled heavenly while cooking. I guess I was expecting a bit of a thicker sauce, but it was still tasty. Subbed apple juice for the white wine. Great flavor on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Yum-o...this tasted like restaurant quality recipe. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This dish turned out delicious. My husband and I loved it. I prepared it with boneless, skinless chicken breasts seasoned with salt, pepper, paprika and garlic powder. Sauteed the chicken with plenty of minced garlic. Instead of white wine I used apple cider... the sauce turned out perfect, so very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Oh my gosh, this is phenomenal. I used just two bone-in chicken breasts, but the full amount of sauce as well as three cups of cooked rice. I'm so glad I made the extra sauce. I cheated and used half and half instead of the heavy cream, but stirred in a bit of corn starch to help it thicken. I also added some sliced mushrooms that I needed to use up. All I can say is wow. I may try boneless, skinless chicken breasts next time, though. I feel like the bone and the skin are not crucial, although they probably do add a lot of flavor. SO GOOD!!! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was a savory recipe. The sauce was a little thin but that was my fault. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream to cut the calories and 1/2 the butter and replaced it with olive oil. So I added a little more flour. It was still wonderful. Really nice flavor. I doubled the sauce like others suggested as I also added some chicken thighs. My son had 2 big helpings. I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States