Portuguese Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
The chicken was very moist, but flavor wise, I was not impressed at all. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was outstanding! It tasted exactly like the Frango com Natas (translation: chicken with cream) that I ate while living in Portugal. I used the recipe as written but added a tsp. of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
My husband just loved it!!! Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Made this for dinner tonight and really enjoyed it. I'd have liked to use bone-in chicken, but hubby hates bones & skin, so I used tenders (and adjusted cooking time for the smaller cut). Flavor was outstanding. I do wish the sauce had been a little thicker (and I'd have known what to do if I'd read other reviewers first). A note: when you use the function to adjust the recipe to the number of servings you'd like, it keeps the instructions to reduce the sauce to 1 & 1/2 cups, when it will vary with the new quantities. I love salt, but the chicken stock I had on hand was low sodium. For some reason, probably the fact the sauce was reduced, this was still salty. That didn't bother me, but I may not add the salt called for in the recipe next time. For the garlic, I happened to have some roasted cloves to toss in, but still wanted it to have that "other" garlic flavor, so used a little garlic powder (not garlic salt), and also a tiny bit of minced fresh garlic. It may sound like overkill, but it really wasn't. The flavor of the broth and wine still came through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Oh my gosh, this is phenomenal. I used just two bone-in chicken breasts, but the full amount of sauce as well as three cups of cooked rice. I'm so glad I made the extra sauce. I cheated and used half and half instead of the heavy cream, but stirred in a bit of corn starch to help it thicken. I also added some sliced mushrooms that I needed to use up. All I can say is wow. I may try boneless, skinless chicken breasts next time, though. I feel like the bone and the skin are not crucial, although they probably do add a lot of flavor. SO GOOD!!! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is a regular in my house. I use boneless skinless breasts for convenience and to cut out some calories, but I bet it's better the original way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
It was all right but I think it should be more herbs and spices and it is too much sauce for 4 pieces of chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I'd rate this recipe 10 stars if I could. I've made this every week for my family, and they wish I made it more often! It's a great tasting dish, like you'd expect from a very nice restaurant! Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was wonderful, my husband gobbled it up. It was flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made a few changes after reading the reviews. I added an extra pinch of sea salt and sprinkled about a 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper while it was simmering. After 45 minutes of cooking, I then added a handful of chopped italian parsley for color & simmered for another 15 - 20 minutes. I followed the remaining directions by reducing liquid and adding the heavy cream. I served it with saffron (yellow) rice and steamed broccoli. It had a nice flavor with the yellow rice and the eye appeal was definitely there with the different colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States