Portuguese Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was fabulous! I am a health-conscious cook, so I used fat free half n half, and used boneless skinless chicken breast. Tasted awesome! Kids gobbled it down, asking for more! Truly a special meal, without taking "special" time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This recipe became an instant favorite at our house. I've made it no less than two dozen times since I found it. I use skinless chicken tenders. The browning cooks those most of the way through. I then add all of the recommended liquid (which more than covers the tenders) and simmer for 15 minutes or so. I leave the flour out, and instead thicken with a bit of cornstarch at the end. I also finish with about 1/3 cup grated parmesean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Two words: bland & boooooooooring! I have no idea why so many people gave it such high ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
If I could give this a 10 star I would! This was a FANTASTIC dish!! Everyone is right, the sauce just makes the dish, and the chicken being on the bone I think helps to give more flavor. I did end up having to add probably another 3/4 cup chicken stock to make sure it was covered about half way, and then added a little more wine to even it out. I did double the garlic too, after reading many reviews. When the chicken was removed from the pan to thicken the sauce, I placed the chicken in the oven with the broiler on (although one level down from your normal broil level) and it kept the chicken warm and also crispened the skin. We still pulled the skin off at the point of eatting though to save fat, but to anyone who likes a crisp skin this would be a good step. I did add just a few sprinkles of corn starch, to thicken the sauce even a tad more. Served over rice. This will be a repeat in our house for sure! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 3 out of 5 stars. It was good but I made a lot of changes. I used Marsala wine and I added an extra clove of garlic. I seasoned the chicken and the sauce with salt and pepper. It as good, kind of like a creamy chicken marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
So good. I used boneless, skinless chicken. Sprinkled a little "21 Seasoning Salute" (from Trader Joes), in the broth/wine mixture while it was reducing, and dried parsley, just for color at the end. Served with linguine and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was really good -- and I didn't even have cream, which would really have made it outstanding. Just the right amount of chicken, wine, garlic and cream flavors. Terrific over rice. A few notes: I don't think this really takes 45 minutes to simmer, especially if you add warm broth. Also, if you too don't have cream, I used 2% milk with corn starch and it worked fine. My kids both liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redding, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! Making it for the second time right now. It couldn't be easier, and doesn't have any ingredients that you don't probably have on hand anyway. I made only a few small changes: used 3 skinless chicken breasts (because that's how they generally come in my grocery store), I used 5 cloves of garlic and flattened them slightly with the back of a knife first, and I used light cream instead of heavy cream because that's what I have in the fridge for coffee. The sauce is lick-your-plate delicious; I'll be making this again and again. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was OK, but not one to write in my home cookbook or make again. Maybe I didn't use a good enough wine or something? missing flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I lightened the recipe up by using light butter and fat free evaporated milk in place of the cream. My family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States