Portuguese Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Fabulous! Followed exactly except that I took another reviewers advice and broiled the chicken at the very end to just char it a bit and then propped it up on the mashed potatoes for a nice presentation. The gravy is outrageous. Thanks submitter - I am going to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This ones a keeper. I used boneless thighs cut into bite size pieces so it cooked a little quicker and added fresh sliced portabella muchrooms and light cream. Served over basmati rice. Super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Used boneless, skinless chicken. Turned out really well. Easy to make, too! Only used half the chicken, but made all the sauce. Definitely worth it. Served it with mashed potatoes. The sauce was great over the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was a great simple meal, but full of flavor! I did added an additional clove or two of garlic. My husband was impressed and went for seconds, which is huge praise! I bet this would be good with pork too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was really tasty, but next time I will double the sauce because that was the best part. Delish! Could go with rice or potatoes, using sauce as a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was really good. Made as directed the first time except I used blsl chicken breasts. Simple recipe, simple ingredients, simply delicious. Sometimes less IS more... Made the second time, again with blsl chicken breasts, this time added one pint of sliced mushrooms and an additional tablespoon of flour. Both times the chicken was moist, flavorful, and fork tender. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I thought this recipe was very good. For those of you who got thin sauce you have to be patient. I probably reduced mine for 15 minutes at a rolling boil to get it thicker. The chicken was very tender and it does not heat up your kitchen bonus in my book). I also didn't have heavy cream and just added a dollop of sour cream and it worked fine. Next time I will double the garlic and serve with mashed potatoes. I will make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Very good. I didn't have heavy cream, so I mixed 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I doubled the recipe to feed 3 of my boys and husband. They loved it. I did add some garlic salt and a 1/2 tsp more pepper to give the gravy more flavor but otherwise everything was delicious. I used drumsticks and thighs and they turned out very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grniddevil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I thought this was very flavorful. I don't cook with heavy cream often, so I used plain yogurt instead. Also I cut the prep and cooking time down, did a one skillet dinner. Cooked the chicken, then added everything else. I used boneless chicken breasts and cut them into strips. I had simmering for too long, chicken was dry. Less than the 45 min as suggested for whole breasts. I gave 4 stars because although this was really good, my family wasnt totally impressed. I liked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Dugan Chong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States