Portuguese Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. The Chardoney that I used really gave the chicken flavor! Next time I'd used large boneless chicken breasts instead of the tenders I had at home. Like others, I decided to throw in the tomato sauce instead of the cream. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
THIS WAS SO DELICIOUS. If you follow the directions perfectly, it will turn out great. Instead of using the chicken with bone, I used "chicken tenderloins" and followed the directions the same way. I did not use all of the sauce to cover up the chicken (didn't need it all) so I set it aside, and waited to use it until I boiled it down. THE SAUCE IS AMAZING. I highly recommend this recipe if you're cooking for family and friends and need something that will impress and not take a lot of time. I cut up squash into 1/2 inch thick pieces and seasoned with a little butter and lemon pepper (in the oven @ 400 for ten minutes- it made a great side to this recipe. 2 thumbs up from me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
kids loved it my daughter asks for it constantly. insted of rice i tried mashed potatoes, delicious!!!!!!i will try it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bravobarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paradise, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Quite tasty; a little salty (might have been my problem) but was a definite "will do again". Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. I have made this several times and am always pleased with it. I made a few changes the last time I made this. Instead of using white wine, I used red wine instead. I also sauteed baby bellas and fresh rosemary in olive oil then spooned them on top of the chicken just before placing them on the table. This added to the appearance of the dish and gave it a fantastic flavor which pleased my family. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was a great recipe and yeilded moist and flavorful chicken. I had to make several changes though. My husband cannot do dairy so I did not use the cream. Instead I used another TBSP of butter and about 4 TBSP of flour a d reduced the broth/wine until it was of the right consistency. I used 6 bone in/skin on thighs. I added 2 bay leaves, plenty of salt and pepper, and a few shakes of lemon pepper. At the end I added a sprinkling of cayenne which wasn't enough to make it spicy but added good flavor. Drizzled over chicken and served with roasted potatoes. Try this potatoe recipe-delish and pairs great with this dish: cube enough potatoes to make a single layer in a 9x13. Add chicken broth until potatoes are nearly covered. Add splash of white wine. Season with lots of good quality lemon pepper and garlic salt. Put in oven at 500 and stir every 20 min until potatoes are tender and broth has mostly evaporated. About half way through try dotting with butter for added flavor and color. You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foresthill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and quite enjoyed it though I made a number of changes! I only used 2 large boneless skinless chicken breasts, and filleted them. Reduced the butter by half. I doubled the amount of garlic. Only used 1 cup of stock. 40 minutes of simmering was far too long for the thinness of my filets. It was basically all gone but left a very small amount of nice thick gravy in the pan. I added a small amount of hot water, then I used maybe only 1/4 cup of half & half instead of heavy cream and stirred until thickened. I sprinkled salt and pepper in the gravy at this point. The results were quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
AWESOME!!!!!!!!! I followed this recipe to a tee and I was amazed at how flavorful the sauce was and how moist the chicken was. This is a very forgiving recipe. My husband was late from work and I had to delay finishing this for over an hour, so my total cooking time from start to finish was like 2 hours, and it still turned out amazing. I had really large chicken breast, so I cooked it in the pan for 1 hour, then removed it from the pan until I could finish the sauce later. The only suggestion I would give is to make extra sauce. I served it over rice and almost needed more to dunk the chicken in as we ate it. Make sure after you reduce the liquid in the pan that you taste it. I did not salt or pepper the chicken and with the broth that I used, it has plenty of salt and did not have to add any to the dish. This will definitely be a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Fabulous! Followed exactly except that I took another reviewers advice and broiled the chicken at the very end to just char it a bit and then propped it up on the mashed potatoes for a nice presentation. The gravy is outrageous. Thanks submitter - I am going to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This ones a keeper. I used boneless thighs cut into bite size pieces so it cooked a little quicker and added fresh sliced portabella muchrooms and light cream. Served over basmati rice. Super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States