Portuguese Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Darrah Bordeaux Dawson
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This dish..though I was a little hesitant at first...came out fantastic! For those of you who did not use bone-in with skin, you are certainly not getting the full effect. I used 5 garlic cloves when cooking the chicken, and did not have a lid for the skillet I used, so I had to use tin foil...never have I cooked a more juicy, perfect piece of chicken...it was to die for. After removing the chicken (mine only needed 30 mins), I sprinkled a bit of garlic salt and cracked pepper over the mixture before adding the cream...and I didn't quite boil down to 1 1/2 C, I just used a bit more heavy cream and a little more patience (I would advise you use at least 2 cups of the liquid anyway, you might need the extra gravy..why not? You're already consuming most of your caloric intake for the day!). This dish does take awhile to complete. I served this over homemade garlic mashed potatoes and I don't know what could be more fitting, but if you're more of a rice person, I'm sure its just as great with the sauce. If your sauce is runny, like alot of people have mentioned, I would highly advise that when its at a point that its coating your spoon adequately, take the pan off, remove the chicken and set the pan aside for about 10 mins...the sauce will thicken upon standing. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrah Bordeaux Dawson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was very good, creamy and had a nice flavor. Next time I will use boneless chicken. The chicken is so tender that is falls off the bone into the sauce and some of the little pieces of bones ended up in there too. Thanks for the recipe, I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good and very easy! Savory sauce and can be done with ingredients on hand. Served with Rice. will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Fantastically delicious ... 5 stars would have been granted, if the chicken didn't quality for a round of baketball. Round two .. we removed the chicken after 20 minutes of simmering and tented until the sauce reduced; 1/2'ed the cream content and added the chicken back before serving ... we give it 10 stars now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Made this for the week end, everyone really enjoyed it. it was easy to prepare and smelled so good while cooking. I am only rating it 4 stars because there is just way too much butter. I think the butter is just to brown the chicken in, then you don't need much. next time I will cut the butter in half or use EVOO all together and omit it. I did make a change with the chicken but I don't think it strayed away from the original recipe. I cut BLSL breasts into strips and dredged them in a flour mixture with garlic powder, salt ,pepper and peprika. then browned them in the butter. Everyone loved it and are asking when we can have it again. I served it over rice, but I think pasta would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was AMAZING!!!! I used boneless chicken breasts and garlic salt, but otherwise followed this exactly. I paired it with jasmine rice and steamed brocolli. I JUST had the leftovers for lunch today and they were seriously the best leftovers I have ever had. And the sauce is awesome on the rice! Will definitely put this into our normal rotation! I also paired this with the Easy Sweet Rolls recipe. They paired well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I used 3 boneless chicken breasts. After they cooked, I shredded them. The sauce is rich and wonderful! I didn't add salt or pepper (yet). I found the sauce to be very flavorful with the wine and garlic. It was not very thick but was still quite creamy. I may make this again but try to reduce the fat (less butter, alternatives for the heavy cream). It was a great excuse to use the wine and cream from another meal I made a few days ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherGeeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This meal was delicious. I did make some adjustments. For starters I totally omitted the butter and used extra virgin olive oil to sear the chicken. I added the wine and chicken broth as directed to simmer. Once the chicken was cooked though, I removed the chicken from the pot and instead of adding heavy cream, I had none, I added a small amount of water mixed wtih cornstarch to thicken the sauce. The result was really good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I didn't have chicken broth so I used mushroom broth. Also added in half a cup of sliced mushrooms to brown in the butter with the chicken (I used two chicken legs and thighs on the bone.) Once the chicken was cooked through I removed it, reduced the sauce a little more, added half & half instead of heavy cream, plus the salt and pepper and a little rosemary, then pulled the the chicken off the bones and added it back in. Served over egg noodles, it was to die for. This will be one of my go-to recipes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muirae Demerse Kenney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlborough, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Found it too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States