Portuguese Burnt Sugar Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lasicilia
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Fantastic...with a few additions! Note to self: Do NOT use raw sugar. I made this first with raw sugar because coming from Australia, it's cheaper. It went all hard and sugarcubey. Disgusting. I tried it again with caster sugar/white sugar..added, 1 tsp chinese five spice, 1 tsp aniseed essence and 1 tsp vanilla essence and it came out beautifully. For Aussies: the temp. of sugar rose to 125 degrees celcius before it was ready. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lasicilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Hmmm, I'll admit this was my first attempt at making a candy of this type. I had no problems working with the candy (man was it HOT!), or making the nice twisty shapes, they look beautiful, but I was hoping for more of a tart flavor (or any flavor for that matter) If I were to make these again I would probably add a lemon or cherry extract for a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
hmm...i need to practice this one. Very messy and difficult to handle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This candy is just what Laura Ingalls Wilder made in her one of her "Little House on the Prairie" books (the big woods one, I think). Only she dropped it into snow banks and used maple sugar. Cool historical recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Quick, simple and beautiful! The candy is very hot and begins to set up quickly. It does have to be done in a hurry, but even if the twists aren't perfect it still comes out great. My only changes were adding different extracts to different batches for more flavors, and food colorings so I could tell them apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Thanks for the recipe! And yes, this is fun. I didn't have cider vinegar, so I used rice wine vinegar. I also added a couple of drops of red food coloring, anise extract, vanilla extract, and a bit of ground cardamon. (I needed to clean out some pantry ingredients!) The flavors seemed to work really well. I wasn't too hot at getting pretty shapes, but who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
(First time trying to make candy) Very easy recipe! I added a little blue sugar at the last minute, and because my twists weren't exactly twisty, it ended up looking like broken glass! Lots of fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
My family loved this candy. My only problem with it was that I didn't taste any tart that I was expecting. And my 1st attempt at pulling and twisting that candy was a disaster but it tasted wonderful anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i made this candy as the directions said to and it came out tasting really good. Not tart but more buttery sorta like butter scotch. when i put it on plates it cooled very quickly on the edges. did not pull well at all! but my dad certainly loved it since he loves butter scotch candy!! will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fun and simple recipe! As long as you cook it long enough it's really not too much trouble to twist them. (Though yes it is very hot!) I just used a twisting while pulling method and cut them in short strips. I also found that this is only difficult and messy when you don't cook them for long enough. They become sticky and don't harden fast making them impossible to twist and set aside (they'll even stick to the plate!) A good way to also tell when its time to pour is when it starts smelling a little burnt. I tired 2 variations of this. This first I added vanilla extract and it came out, I think, the same way it would have come out without it. A sort of butterscotch taste~ The second I added some lemon juice and red food coloring and they came out beautiful! I would only recommend it though if you like a burnt/bitter taste to your candy. Otherwise the taste would have been perfect. Sweet with a little tartness. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States