Portuguese Burnt Sugar Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
My family loved this candy. My only problem with it was that I didn't taste any tart that I was expecting. And my 1st attempt at pulling and twisting that candy was a disaster but it tasted wonderful anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
(First time trying to make candy) Very easy recipe! I added a little blue sugar at the last minute, and because my twists weren't exactly twisty, it ended up looking like broken glass! Lots of fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Thanks for the recipe! And yes, this is fun. I didn't have cider vinegar, so I used rice wine vinegar. I also added a couple of drops of red food coloring, anise extract, vanilla extract, and a bit of ground cardamon. (I needed to clean out some pantry ingredients!) The flavors seemed to work really well. I wasn't too hot at getting pretty shapes, but who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Hmmm, I'll admit this was my first attempt at making a candy of this type. I had no problems working with the candy (man was it HOT!), or making the nice twisty shapes, they look beautiful, but I was hoping for more of a tart flavor (or any flavor for that matter) If I were to make these again I would probably add a lemon or cherry extract for a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Quick, simple and beautiful! The candy is very hot and begins to set up quickly. It does have to be done in a hurry, but even if the twists aren't perfect it still comes out great. My only changes were adding different extracts to different batches for more flavors, and food colorings so I could tell them apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lasicilia
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Fantastic...with a few additions! Note to self: Do NOT use raw sugar. I made this first with raw sugar because coming from Australia, it's cheaper. It went all hard and sugarcubey. Disgusting. I tried it again with caster sugar/white sugar..added, 1 tsp chinese five spice, 1 tsp aniseed essence and 1 tsp vanilla essence and it came out beautifully. For Aussies: the temp. of sugar rose to 125 degrees celcius before it was ready. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lasicilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
hmm...i need to practice this one. Very messy and difficult to handle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This candy is just what Laura Ingalls Wilder made in her one of her "Little House on the Prairie" books (the big woods one, I think). Only she dropped it into snow banks and used maple sugar. Cool historical recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i made this candy as the directions said to and it came out tasting really good. Not tart but more buttery sorta like butter scotch. when i put it on plates it cooled very quickly on the edges. did not pull well at all! but my dad certainly loved it since he loves butter scotch candy!! will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very delightful! I added a couple drops of lemon juice to them (as well as un-needed food coloring just for fun) and they came out tasting like Honey Lemon drops. I put them in my tea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States