Portuguese Bread French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I made this for my family on Christmas morning and it was a BIG hit!! Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was great! I added some chocolate chips to the layers and it turned out great. This could probably serve 8-10 people since it is so rich and heavy. Since there are only two of us, we have been reheating it and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is good, but next time I'll lay the bread pieces out on a single layer and bake on a sheet pan. The stacking made the "connected" parts *very* soggy. I used freshly-baked Portuguese sweet bread from the site and next time I need to use not-so-fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is so very good. It reminds me of a bread pudding. I like to use thick slices of bread and omit the butter on top. It seems to come out a little more crispy on top which is the way we prefer it and nice and custard like in the middle. So good,you have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This turned out really well. I made it with the Portugese Bread from the bread machine recipe here, and the consistency was perfect. Light, not soggy at all, with a very nice flavor. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Made this recipe with Italian Pandoro and it was wonderful. Had bread pudding consistency in dish and toasted on top. It was the hit of our Christmas Eve brunch. Easy to make, but has a sophisticated flavor. We cut the Pan d'oro in half vertically, then in 1/2" slices horizontally. Laid them in the glass dish at 45/angle. Pretty presentation. Smells great when it cooks. High awe factor. Don't overbake. Make sure this delicate dish doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I loved this recipe and my boyfreind as well. He is a huge sweet bread fan. I used the recipe for portuguese sweet bread for the bread machine, that I got from this website. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States